Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 2
This course will look in the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. It's aimed at people that have some modeling experience in Maya but are having trouble with complex objects.
# 1 13-09-2012 , 10:34 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 230

Removing Lights from render layers

Hi,

I've a few simple render layers set up to capture various shadows in a scene - I have an object lit from two lights in slightly different places, I want to create two layers, each containing the object but only one of the lights. the idea being I can then adjust the shadows independently in photoshop.
Removing objects is simple enough now I've cleaned up the groups, but lights refuse to budge. I've read on another post that a new light being in the default light set can be problematic; my lights are all in the default set... thing is I don't know how to remove them from the set to check.

thanks


Jason

# 2 14-09-2012 , 09:33 AM
daverave's Avatar
The thin red line
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Select the light in outliner or scene and hide it, I would play with the lighting setting in maya to get the shadows better..............dave




Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
# 3 14-09-2012 , 11:30 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 230
If I hide the light though, it won't show up in any render will it? My aim is to batch render a layered psd with separate geometry, shadows etc. to use in digital and traditional artwork. It's a very graphically stylised look, so I want separate shadow layers I can alter, erase or blend at will over drawings etc.
I don't need a finished render, nor do I want to mess about too much with the light settings - just enough to give acceptable results. I've set up a batch render to output the PSD so I don't have to deal with individual files. The less time I can spend in Maya the better to be honest.


Last edited by se7enhedd; 14-09-2012 at 11:33 AM.
# 4 14-09-2012 , 11:53 AM
daverave's Avatar
The thin red line
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472




Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
# 5 14-09-2012 , 12:49 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,522
If the light has a parent that is on the given layer, it won't be removed. You can create a layer override on the light's intensity and kill it though. It's quick and dirty if the scene is simple. However, checking out passes is definitely worth while.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads