Maya for 3D Printing - Rapid Prototyping
In this course we're going to look at something a little different, creating technically accurate 3D printed parts.
# 1 27-10-2013 , 12:01 PM

Dark Surfaces on Glass Material

Hi, I’m fairly new to maya and I’m having difficulty rendering a transparent object. Many surfaces of the material are very very dark in the render.

I’m modeling a cd jewel case. At the moment I only have the bottom part of the case which is completely transparent. However each time I render the scene many of the surfaces are far too dark, in fact they are almost black. I’ve placed the case on a white surface and am lost for ideas as to how to make the transparency of the object more realistic. In real life the are no black areas on the cd case.

If anyone has any ideas I’d be very grateful!!

user added image

# 2 27-10-2013 , 04:45 PM
Super Moderator
- What kind of shader are you using? And can you show a screenshot of the settings?
- What are your raytrace render settings?
- Is the scene sitting in black 3D space?

- Genny
# 3 28-10-2013 , 03:15 PM
Perhap change the material, the light, the geometry. Really there are a number of things that can fix it, but you need to give more info on the scene for any of our advice to be effective. Please supply more information and we can help you a whole lot more. Thankyou for cooperating, and I hope we can fix your issue soon enough. Although with what you have given now the most we can do is throw guesses and ideas at you about what is wrong.

# 4 29-10-2013 , 10:09 AM
Ok so apologies, I really had no idea where to start with knowing what information to give, here’s a full breakdown and again if I’ve missed anything important please let me know?

Geometry

The geometry of the scene is very simple, there are two visible objects, the plastic cd case (which I’ve referred to as glass as a glass type object is perfect for what I’m trying to achieve) and a flat plane that the cd case resides on.