Substance Painter
In this start to finish texturing project within Substance Painter we cover all the techniques you need to texture the robot character.
# 1 26-09-2015 , 01:13 PM

Maya Software doesn't render smooth edges

Hello everyone

I am pretty new to Maya and I wanted to start by making simple Minecraft models but I have a bit of a problem. My mental ray crashes every time I use it, so I have to stick to Maya Software.

When I want to smoothen the edges, I choose the object and press "3" on the keyboard -I don't know if this is the proper way to do it, but it works for me - but when I render it, the edges are sharp as original. This works with mental ray, I don't know why it doesn't.

I know it is probably something silly, but since I am new, I have no idea how to fix it

Thank you in advance! user added image

# 2 26-09-2015 , 03:17 PM
EduSciVis-er
Maya Software doesn't support smooth mesh preview (it's just a preview, really). You'll have to actually smooth the mesh if you want Software to render it smooth.

# 3 26-09-2015 , 05:18 PM
Super Moderator
Also you may want to solve the whole Mental Ray crashing thing (unless you're planning on using a third party renderer) because it's much more powerful than the default Maya Software renderer. Does Mental Ray crash even if you make a simple polygon cube in a fresh scene and render? Check the crash logs.

- Genny
# 4 26-09-2015 , 08:15 PM

Also you may want to solve the whole Mental Ray crashing thing (unless you're planning on using a third party renderer) because it's much more powerful than the default Maya Software renderer. Does Mental Ray crash even if you make a simple polygon cube in a fresh scene and render? Check the crash logs.

If I make a new scene and add a cube, it works like a charm, but on other scenes it crashes.
This is what it says in Maya:

// Error: (Mayatomr.Output) : failed during mental ray rendering: mental ray abort //