Digital humans the art of the digital double
Ever wanted to know how digital doubles are created in the movie industry? This course will give you an insight into how it's done.
# 1 13-06-2003 , 03:37 AM
cube's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 6

3DS import Cant Assign Textures

Hi
When i import some 3ds meshes in2 maya & try 2 assign textures
i cant, the mesh seems 2 become transparent (hardware Texture is on),I can assign a colour but no texture,This only happens with sum meshes... Any help Please... Thanks:bgreen:

# 2 13-06-2003 , 04:15 AM
adldesigner's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Check the normals of your faces.
If need, reverse them.

Hope this helps.

# 3 13-06-2003 , 07:12 AM
caligraphics's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billund, Denmark
Posts: 992
and check your UV's aswell


Carsten Lind
Senior 3D Artist,
Maya Software Manager & Maya Instructor
LEGO Systems A/S
# 4 13-06-2003 , 08:44 AM
cube's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 6
Thanks 4 ur replys guys.. but if i used maya 4 20years i'd still be a newbie,So im not 2 sure what ur talking about... So
I went in2 the Relationship Editor,& created a UV set
This seems 2 work fine now
Please let me know if this was not what u meant, a little step by step buide would help Thanks

# 5 17-06-2003 , 04:09 AM
wchamlet's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 195
If there wasn't any UV's saved with the 3ds exported model, then the model will not have a shader assigned to it when you import it into Maya. You can assign a UV set either by automatic mapping or any other type of mapping you choose. You can later create a better UV layout when you need to. Once the model has a UV set, you can assign any shader you want.

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads