Complex UV Layout in Maya
Over the last couple of years UV layout in Maya has changed for the better. In this course we're going to be taking a look at some of those changes as we UV map an entire character
# 1 11-06-2003 , 07:38 PM
MKess007's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 202

First Character animation

I just made a simple character, rigged him very simply, and tried animating him. He is just picking up a ball.

Question though, is it possible to make it so that when you move the root(pelvis) down, the legs bend keeping the feet in the same spot?

The animation is Divx 5

Attached Files
File Type: zip pickup.zip (35.4 KB, 115 views)

mahalo,

Myk

<a href="https://www.metic.net" rel="noopener noreferrer nofollow" class="giveMeEllipsisa" target="_blank">www.metic.net</a><br />
# 2 11-06-2003 , 07:51 PM
dannyngan's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Simple way to keep the feet locked is to parent the leg IK handles (if you have them) to some other object like a locator. That way, the feet only move when the locators do.

As far as the animation goes, it's a litte on the quick side. I'd slow it down a bit to the audience time to read the motions.


Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
# 3 11-06-2003 , 07:53 PM
Kurt's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,310
Not bad for your first go... If you dont want the feet to slip just used clamped keys.... As far as the knee's... i'd have to see how you rigged him with Ik's, to get the root to move down with the feet staying put.


I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

https://www.artstation.com/kurtb
# 4 11-06-2003 , 10:19 PM
Nem's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
the rig is very important in animations


- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
# 5 12-06-2003 , 02:23 PM
MKess007's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 202
Thanks. I figured out how to lock to locators, but when I move the hip root i have to click the next frame to refresh it to show the new position. Is there something wrong here. How do you make it "realtime" refreshing?


mahalo,

Myk

<a href="https://www.metic.net" rel="noopener noreferrer nofollow" class="giveMeEllipsisa" target="_blank">www.metic.net</a><br />
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads