SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Help with Dog tutorial
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-07-2003, 01:57 PM   #1
Harvezter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Help with Dog tutorial

Still trying hard to learn here... am doing the dog tutorial and everything looked like i was doing well..... had the dog shaped, selected the side with no legs faces and deleted... had half of a dog like I was spose to.... then I went to convert subd to poly and set all like the tutorial said to........ then I opened the Outliner and my outliner was different than the tutorial said it should be......... instead of having SubdTess and pCube.... I had only polyToSubd1
I tried to just finish out the dog thinking maybe the tut was written on 4.0 and I have 4.5 but it just doesnt work... I can join the dogs halves but I end up with a sharp edged blocky looking dog, not all smooth like it was before I got the convert point... Im not ure how I ended up going wrong....... I THOUGHT I followed everything step by step.
Im going to start it all over as soon as I post this but Im hoping someone could maybe tell me where I went wrong so I know what to look for next time or what to pay attention to in the future.

Thank You, Jared

P.S. how can I reset ALL the tools in Maya 4.5 complete?
Harvezter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2003, 02:04 PM   #2
Harvezter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hmm started the tut over checking everything I do with a fine tooth comb....... when I convert poly to subd... in mt settings should I have "Keep Original" checked? All my settings are default and this isnt checked with default settings. If it should be checked then which should I have Standard or Proxy Mode checked?
I checked these settings because when I first created the poly cube I had my outliner opened....... I saw the pCube like I should have had in my last attempt at this tut..... but when I converted to subd the pCube was gone and all that was in the outliner was polyToSubd1.......
Harvezter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2003, 02:17 PM   #3
Harvezter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hmmm tried the convert settings I mentioned above...on just a simple poly cube converted to a subd then one face extruded, split and left half deleted...... so I dont have to keep making the dog over and over until I can solve this problem........ and like I said I tried the settings I mentioned above - Keep Original with both Proxy and Standard checked and neither setting produced what I should be getting.
Someone please help me..... Im going nuts here...
Harvezter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2003, 11:44 PM   #4
Harvezter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

7 hours and no one can answer that for me? my last post has been over a week and no one answered..... why would I wanna pay money to a site where I cant get an answer especially about one of tutorials from this site???
Harvezter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2003, 11:55 PM   #5
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

well there is a forum dedicated to it so you may want to post there. But keep it civil I know it can be frustrating to not get an answer quickly but today has just been a quiet day on the board. Email the author of the tute personally or send them a PM cause people are really helpful on this board seriously! So chill out and set away from the computer

try emailing Kevin or PMing him I'm sure he can sort it out or put you in contact with someone who can

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2003, 11:57 PM   #6
Witchy
Subscriber
 
Witchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

7 whole hours! You should sue! This isn't instant messenger you know, you could have a little patience as lots of people here are very helpful.

I don't suppose the PolyToSubd entry has a + sign next to it in the outliner does it? If it does click on it and your shapes may well be underneath it.
Witchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2003, 11:58 PM   #7
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Also, you're most likely to get an answer only from the fellow who actully made the tutorial to begin with.... I'm not certain who made the dog video you're refering to, whether it be Kevin, Craig, or otherwise.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2003, 12:21 AM   #8
Harvezter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Appologies

Im sorry if I sounded hostile, it wasnt my intention at all... I just so badly wanna learn and I guess I let my frustrations show in my post. Please forgive me and please dont write me off as a hot head because thats truly not me
Im going to take everyones advice and see if I can get my problem solved. Next time I promise to exercise a bit more etiquette.
Harvezter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2003, 08:53 AM   #9
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Help with Dog tutorial

Quote:
Originally posted by Harvezter
Still trying hard to learn here... am doing the dog tutorial and everything looked like i was doing well..... had the dog shaped, selected the side with no legs faces and deleted... had half of a dog like I was spose to.... then I went to convert subd to poly and set all like the tutorial said to........ then I opened the Outliner and my outliner was different than the tutorial said it should be......... instead of having SubdTess and pCube.... I had only polyToSubd1
---
P.S. how can I reset ALL the tools in Maya 4.5 complete?
It sounds like you selected Poly to Subd's instead of Subd's to Polys. polyToSubd1 is the result you get from a Poly to Subd operation. Make sure you're converting from Subd's to Polys and not the other way around.

The quickest way to reset all tools in Maya is to delete the preferences. You can find those in My Documents\maya\4.5\prefs.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2003, 09:00 AM   #10
Harvezter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you very much Danny. I will try this out. Im so new at this stuff its very possible that I did exactly what you have mentioned
Harvezter is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SimplyMaya 2010 - Subscriber Updates Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 6 13-09-2011 09:37 PM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 09:28 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.