SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Animation / Animation / Pasting Keyframes
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2003, 06:45 PM   #1
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Pasting Keyframes

OK wise ones here's a question for you. I am working on some animation cycles which require identictal keyframes at the start and the end of the cycles so they cycle smoothly. Now when I use A:M (that other program I use) I click on say the wrist locator copy the key frame for it move to a new frame and paste the same keyframe - wonderful.

I have tried selecting channels in Maya and copying and pasting but it doesn't have the same effect... At the moment I am down to manually typing in the figures to make starting and ending keyframes match up.

Any ideas?
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2003, 07:51 PM   #2
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

You can copy and paste keyframes in the time slider (just right-click the red keyframe ticks). Or you can copy/paste in the dope sheet and the graph editor.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2003, 09:57 PM   #3
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I dunno you spend sixty bleeding quid of a book from Alias and they don't tell you how to do sumink as simple as this init!

fanx Dannyngan, i'll try it out tommorrow!
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 02:24 AM   #4
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,297
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

You can also middle mouse drage from your current postion and them key the keys that way...
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 09:22 AM   #5
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Kurt

I didn't quite catch that mate

Do you mean that you can click on a keyframe and middle mouse drag it in the time slider to a new poistion?

Only it don't seem to quite work...
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 01:16 PM   #6
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,297
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

YA say you like the keys at frame 1 and you want them to be the same at frame 24 for a cycle go to frame one then middle mouse drag over to frame 24 and then key all the postions or hit s key if you have a character set.
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 01:26 PM   #7
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Yep, middle mouse dragging on the time slider will progress the frames without actually progressing the animation. Very useful!
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 09:27 PM   #8
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK keyboys answer me this then. I am used to Animation:Master and it has a feature for pasting mirrored keyframes. Say you have you first frame of a walk cycle, you select the model then go to the middle of the cycle and PASTE MIRRORED it flips the characters stride. Then you copy frame one again and paste it at the end of the cycle and your getting there (kinda blocks out the motion).

The other feature it has ( I have looked at Mayas keys option boxes but I don't quite understand them yet) is the ability to paste in a hierarchial fashion. Say you have a control for the whole model (pelvis) and some for the hands. Now you could copy a frame and paste, but only want to copy the position of the hands and not the whole (pelvis). Can you make Maya only copy the poistion of the hand and paste that rather than the poistion of the whole model?

I would have thought so but tell me how...
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 09:42 PM   #9
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,297
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Just select the hamd joints or locater depending on what you used and middle mouse to the wo what key you want to copy say at frame 12. then its just a matter of keying the keys in that postion.

The walk cycle i did in the vip section goes through it all....
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 09:03 AM   #10
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Gotcha Kurt! Yeah this is easier like this - like it!

Nice Cloth tutorial btw Kurt, perhaps for part two you could show how cloth animates. I know it looks great when done but it's the doing of it that's a bastard....
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.