SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / mouse selection
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2003, 08:00 AM   #1
RbrtMackay
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default mouse selection

I am trying to do the dragon tutorial and I am having a problem with CV point selection. Watching the video, CVs on the lower jaw are selected by box dragging over the points that are to be edited. Also in the video if the selection box starts or finishes over the upper jaw it does not select it. When I try to select the points in the lower jaw I am also doing an object selection of the upper jaw if I touch any part of it. I have looked for a setting to change but am unable to find one. Is there anything I can do to correct this.
RbrtMackay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2003, 03:42 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Make sure you are in component mode.

Please do not double post.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2003, 05:18 PM   #3
David
SM Site Programmer
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,039
Thanks: 50
Thanked 390 Times in 305 Posts
Default

closed double posted

David
__________________
Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2003, 05:55 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Unless he's posted a 3rd one, I already deleted the other. Thread re-opened.

__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2003, 05:38 PM   #5
RbrtMackay
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

"HE'S" sorry about the double post. 'HE' posted again because 'HE' did not spot the thread on the videos. It was not meant as a way of upsetting everyone.
I do not understand the advice about component mode. It does not seem to matter what mode I am in if when box selecting CVs on one object should any part of that selection box happen to passover any part of the other object that whole of the second object is selected. In the video when CVs are selected the object beneath is not affected. I have been using the control/click to deselect the extra objects but this has got to be a real pain.

thanks for any help
bob
RbrtMackay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2003, 06:11 PM   #6
Witchy
Subscriber
 
Witchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You could try turning off backface culling, that way you can only select the objects on one side.
Witchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2003, 07:23 PM   #7
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Right clicking on an object and selecting a component type should put it into component mode.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2003, 05:37 AM   #8
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Rbrt, I hope 'HE' understands 'THEY" are not too fond of double posts.

Try using a different view. Just because its not happenig exactly like the video doesn't mean you're doing something wrong. The guy in the video might be using different settings than what you have, that's all.

COMPONENT MODE is used to edit the parts of an object such as CVs, isoparms and vertices.

OBJECT MODE lest you selct an object my itsmain components such as geometry, joints and selection handles.



Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	component.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	129.5 KB
ID:	11073  
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2003, 04:50 PM   #9
RbrtMackay
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default thanks

'HE' would like to thank those who are kind enough to have replied. As I have just combined all the pieces the problem seems to be solved for the moment. I will continue looking at this to see if itís my settings or me.
I apologise for the upset caused and I will NOT double post again - promise,
bob
RbrtMackay is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.