SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / how do i make an arch?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-01-2004, 11:32 AM   #1
fretnoize
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default how do i make an arch?

I just started learning maya the other day, so yes, this is a very newbie question. I am trying to make an simple arch with polygons. I've tried looking in my book, and through the website for a solution, but haven't found one that yeilds the result I want, so hopefully I'm not asking a redundant question.

I have taken a face and extruded the face along the curve, resulting in what you see in ex. 1. (hopefully my .jpg is attached correctly) While this is a good start, you can see that the arch does not lay flush with the right side. More so, even if I moved the verticies to be flush with the right side, my arch still would have be unevenly built (notice the shape of each polygon). So this isn't exactly what I want.

In Ex. 2 I used wedge faces and ended up nice even polygons, but I lose the flexibility of extruding and can't give the "arch" an inner radius to actually make it an arch, or use any of the interesting things it looks like you can do with extrude.

Anyway, I just want to know how to make a simple, even arch.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mayaquestion.jpg
Views:	1317
Size:	35.2 KB
ID:	12594  
fretnoize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2004, 11:58 AM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

you can use a non-linear deformer called bend to do it. That should work. One other way is to create a cylinder then duplicate it and scale it down a bit but make sure it extends beyond the edges of the original one (length ways) then use a boolean to get the hole for the arch. Then delete the bottom half of the faces and voila one arch As long as the cylinders have the same properties you should get very clean geometry.

If you need more help or a better explanation just post your questions

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2004, 12:42 PM   #3
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

you can also extrude along a curve but using the blend deformer is probably the easiest.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2004, 01:02 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

One thing to consider, is making half of an arch the way you like, then duplicating and mirroring it for the other side.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2004, 08:56 PM   #5
Elemenopee
Subscriber
 
Elemenopee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

personally i think the very easiest way to do it is to, create 2 3 pt circular arcs (create-->arc tools-->) make 1 larger and the second smaller. Create a quick curve that connects the 2 and doing a Bi-Rail 1 operation, ok it is nurbs and only a flat surface...but you can easily convert to poly and extrude the face
__________________
The only constant is change...
Elemenopee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2004, 09:33 PM   #6
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

There are 2 methods that I like to use:

1) Create a poly torus with 4 sides. Set the twist to 45. Adjust the subdivisions and radius to my liking. Delete half of the torus. Extrude the bottom edges to create the height of the arch.

or

2) Draw a curve that represents the path of the arch. Draw another curve that represents the profile of the arch (in this case a square or rectangle will work). Select the profile then shift select the path. Perform a Surfaces > Extrude with the output type set to polygons.

In both cases, you can simply adjust elements in the history the original components to tweak your arch.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2004, 10:26 PM   #7
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

When I was making a japanese footbridge, I went the long way around by creating a cube, scaling it out and increasing the subdivisions...then just pulled each set of end vertices into place to make half the arch....then duplicate and merge vertices to make the other half.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2004, 10:53 PM   #8
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I think an simple few extrudes with a duplicate negetive scale and merge should work fine right?
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
twisteddragon33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2004, 11:57 AM   #9
fretnoize
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for all the different suggestions. For the curious, I used the two cylinder method and did a boolean difference to remove the middle of the cylinder, making a ring, then selected and deleted the bottom half, giving me an arch and the clean geometry I desired. Thanks!
fretnoize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2004, 12:09 PM   #10
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

i win :p
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2004, 05:44 AM   #11
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default

darn. We will meat again batman!

err something.

Good to know theres so many different ways to do anything.
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
twisteddragon33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2004, 01:43 PM   #12
james_s
Subscriber
 
james_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question

I've had several helpful individuals on this board advise me against using booleans. Any particular reason? I assumed that once the History was deleted the resulting geometry would be functionally the same as if it had been created via any other method.
james_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2004, 01:49 PM   #13
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

The main problem I have with booleans is that they don't always work. :p
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2004, 01:57 PM   #14
james_s
Subscriber
 
james_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

But if the Boolean function DOES work, then once the History is deleted does the resulting geometry have any nagging "ooh, you did a Boolean funtion" notes attached to it somewhere, or is it the same as any other geometry?
james_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2004, 02:16 PM   #15
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Pretty much the same.

When a boolean function does decide to work, it can be helpful in some situations. I'd have to say the vast majority of the time, when I do come to a situation that a boolean would be the best route to take, it doesn't work. So far, I've not managed to determine exact reasons as to why.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SimplyMaya 2010 - Subscriber Updates Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 6 13-09-2011 09:37 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.