SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-06-2008, 07:45 PM   #1
Brett18
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default render size

Hey I'm currently on a games development course and my current project is to create a room interior animation. i've created the animation with cameras lighting etc and it's ready to render out. so i set the render size to 640 x 480, and got it all ready. but for some reason all my frames are coming out at 640 x 240. i keep trying to get them out at 640 x 480 but it's always in some kind of widescreen. when i made the height larger it rendered out at something like 900 x 300.
please could someone helep me, i could really do with having the scene rendered before monday.
Brett18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 11:51 PM   #2
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

It sounds like a res problem, what is the image resolution in the render globals?

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 12:12 AM   #3
Brett18
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Render Globals? is that the same as the render settings?
my settings are set at 72 ppi
sorry if that's not global. if it isn't could you please, tell me how to find it.
thank you sooooo much!
Brett18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 12:36 AM   #4
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,501
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

Render globals and render settings are the same thing, they just renamed it in later versions.


defaults...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	imagesize_defaults.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	50.2 KB
ID:	39199  
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 12:50 AM   #5
Brett18
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks, my settings are set at that
i've given up and just opened another file and imported the animation .mb into it and it's working fine, minus the lights, which are easily replaceable. is there any other downside to doing this?

thanks for all your help!
Brett18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 12:52 AM   #6
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

This means your film gate is most likely different than your resolution gate.

An easy, albeit inaccurate, way to fix it fast with one click, is to turn on "Ignore res gate"

This usually happens when the resulution and/or focal length get changed when folks are trying out different lens-looks, and resolutions etc.

Happens to all of us
No big deal

Good luck!

PS: I moved this to the right forum as well
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 06:04 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.