SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Members Lounge / animation LOD question
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-11-2008, 12:36 AM   #1
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default animation LOD question

hey, for the next few weeks i'll be working on a drifting scene and, im wondering, is there a way to animate, say, a group of cubes/low LOD objects, and then have it's animation data transfered to a car? i figure if i could do this it would save me a lot of time rather than trying to efficiently animate hi-res objects

thanks

EDIT: wrong forum, could a mod move this to the newb forum please
__________________

Last edited by Acid44 : 10-11-2008 at 12:47 AM.
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 03:00 AM   #2
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Not sure if i really understand you, but you can make box/low poly model of a car and high poly model, and 'join' all of them into one LOD group. You can then animate this group, and all the lods will animate with it. You can also set the range on which lower or higher poly lod model will appear.
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 04:45 AM   #3
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

what i mean is that i want to be able to animate a low res geo and have it's animations transfer to a high res geo... i think you got it though cause your answer seems to suit what i mean :p i guess i have to look for a tut on that now
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 05:31 AM   #4
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Well, here is how it goes then.

Make all the lod models. Then select all of them(the order is important here), and go to EDIT->LEVEL of DETAILS->GROUP.

Then open up Outliner, and you should have a new group there. By default it has name LodGroup.

Now you can animate THIS lod group, set the distance fom where difrent lod levels appears. To do that, select this LOD group, and in channelbox, there you have option called 'Treshold[number]'. The number represents the LOD level. Now you can set here distance. AND that's pretty much it. Just don't forget to select the lodGroup, not the model itself when animating.
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 06:01 AM   #5
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

wow, cool, thanks man, really appreciate the help
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 04:29 PM   #6
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

okay, another question...

say im setting up a circle drifting scene, if i use a CV curve for a motion path, how would i go about having it repeat the path?

umm, to try to explain better, like, i'll be using a spiral like path, and once it gets to the end of the path i want it to go around the path again, from the start, which will be touching the end so it wont "jump" across the scene...

sorry if you dont understand,, that's the best i can explain it right now...
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 05:13 PM   #7
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

you want the animation to keep cycling?

in the graph editor select all the attributes in the left hand window thing and then all the keys in the graph (so all points on the curve are selected)
then go Curves > Post Infinity > Cycle

i just tried it out now with a ball on a curve and it worked.

if it doesn't work for you then i didn't explain well enough :p
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 06:07 PM   #8
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

LOL

ok cool, i get what you mean, i gotta do the same thing for the tire rotation, thanks man, dont know why i didnt think of tha :p
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.