SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Ultra Newbie question
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2003, 11:01 PM   #1
Ari_ITT_student
Registered User
 
Ari_ITT_student's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Ultra Newbie question

Was watching the Free Tutorials and decided to follow allong, only problem is that in the viedo the interface shows File, Create, Modify, Edit Polygons, Polygons, Edit Curves, Edit Nurbs, and so on. Whereas mine has the default settings I suppose; Particles, Fields, Soft/Rigid, Effects. How do I add these for quick usage? Using Maya Unlimited 4.0.
Thanks

-adrian
Ari_ITT_student is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2003, 12:15 AM   #2
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

If I understand you correctly, you are looking for the dropdown menu in the upper-left hand corner. That switches you between the different infaces.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2003, 01:18 AM   #3
dbirider
Registered User
 
dbirider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 227
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

also, im pretty sure that the hotkey to choose different menues is left mouse click and H ... then just chose modelling (if thats what you need to do)

__________________
Visit http://pokeronamac.com for details about Mac compatible poker rooms
dbirider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2003, 01:31 AM   #4
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

You can also use F2-F5 on your keyboard to switch menu sets.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2003, 10:53 PM   #5
Ari_ITT_student
Registered User
 
Ari_ITT_student's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

One more thing. Say that I am in the Persp view and I want to see the other side of an object how do I do that?
Ari_ITT_student is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2003, 11:05 PM   #6
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

tap the spacebar
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2003, 11:38 PM   #7
Ari_ITT_student
Registered User
 
Ari_ITT_student's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No not that. I mean like...rotating I guess. How do I rotate while in a view?

AND if I right click and hold I get these options; Edge, Face, UV etc.
But sometimes in the tuts i see a box that says AIW and to the left it says Recent Commands and to the right it says Hotbox Controls. Above that it says View, Shading, Lighting, Show, Panels. Below it says Animate, Deform, Skeleton, Skin, Constrain, Character. I've seen this in the Free Tut Skeletons Part 1 @ 0:01:10 mark. How do I bring that up?
Ari_ITT_student is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2003, 11:54 PM   #8
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK......
Rotate: Alt+RMB (EDIT: you can only rotate persp view)
Pan: MMB
Zoom: Alt+RMB+MMB (Alt+RMB also works but only in 4.5)

About the options.....
Right click a object with the mouse to get Edge, Face...etc

Hold down the spacebar to get the hotbox. The hotbox contains menu's File, Edit...etc. You can also add the Modelling, Animation, Rendering & Dynamics set menus.

Anything else...


__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....

Last edited by doodle : 12-02-2003 at 12:02 AM.
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 12:08 AM   #9
Ari_ITT_student
Registered User
 
Ari_ITT_student's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks a lot z1. Was holding down the spacebar for awhile and nothing happened. So then I right clicked and saw Hotbox, right clicked that and now what i wanted pops up when i hold the spacebar. Thanks! Just learned of the F1 Help from a past thread.

-adrian
Ari_ITT_student is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.