Introduction to Maya - Rendering in Arnold
This course will look at the fundamentals of rendering in Arnold. We'll go through the different light types available, cameras, shaders, Arnold's render settings and finally how to split an image into render passes (AOV's), before we then reassemble it i
# 1 13-10-2018 , 02:13 PM

Sculpting tools problem

I'm a noob. I've created a model of a fish and I need to make some sculpting adjustments. I select my object (in Viewport or Outliner), then go to Sculpting slot in the Shelf, click on an instrument (e.g. Sculpt tool) and when I try it on the fish only small square appears instead of a cursor with selection box when I click and drag on the object (as if it wants me to select an object to work with). But when I create some new object (e.g. Sphere) in the same scene my Sculpt tool takes the shape of a brush (a small cursor circle with a big circle of brush size) and I can sculpt that sphere. Why can't I sculpt the fish then? Why doesn't Maya recognize my fish as an object? Please help!

Last edited by picassolibs; 13-10-2018 at 02:19 PM.
# 2 30-10-2018 , 01:19 AM
My guess would be it's because your object is in a group and your not selecting the geo you're selecting the group open the outliner and select the geo you want to work with.

user added image

# 3 04-05-2021 , 09:32 PM