SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Animation / Animation / Joint, bend, bind problems - HELP
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-12-2003, 02:13 AM   #1
capella62874
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Joint, bend, bind problems - HELP

Hi,

Thanks to everyone here for your help. Heres my newest issue.

Please see screenshot

http://louiseeaton.com/members.jpg

The hand has a rigid bind which works well for everywhere but the thumb. If I bend the thumb down, I get this skin that goes all over the place. I have tried the jointcluster and lattice (and even sculpt) flexors. I have tried editing the membership of the joints points by removing and adding points and no matter what I do, I get similar results when I bend the joint.

Any suggestions are welcome.

Thanks,
Cathleen
capella62874 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 04:38 AM   #2
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

just wandering but are you sure there are no open seams there ?
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 04:40 AM   #3
capella62874
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I dont think so, but thats a good point. I will zoom in and check.

do you think that would cause the problem?
capella62874 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 04:43 AM   #4
capella62874
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

actually what is the best way to check for open seams?
capella62874 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 04:43 AM   #5
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

it could. I haven't done much ridged bind and used deformers.. I'v only done it on objects that are staying solid. So I might not be much help. But that jumped in my head so I figered I'd give you a shout.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 05:06 AM   #6
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

You can turn on Border Edges in the Custom Polygon Display options box.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 04:52 PM   #7
capella62874
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well I checked and there is nothing showing around that area or anywhere.... ANy other suggestions???
capella62874 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 05:38 PM   #8
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

It looks like those vertices are weighted to a different joint than the one you are manipulating.

Select the joint. Click under [Animation] Deform > Edit Membership Tool.

The vertices turn yellow, I believe, if they are being affected by the selected joint. If they are a different color, they are being affected by an unselected joint. Hold Shift to Add vertices to the selected joint. Hold Control to Remove.

If not that, perhaps the weight is down to 0 so it's not moving when it should.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 05:49 PM   #9
capella62874
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks, actually i tried that, adding and removing and nothing seemed to fix it. How can I tell the value of the weight?
capella62874 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2003, 06:22 PM   #10
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Window > General Editors > Component Editor.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 12:14 AM   #11
capella62874
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks mtmckinley for your help.

For those interested: It was the history that caused the problem. mtmckinley discovered that by deleting the history, the skin wouldnt pop out as it was doing (with both rigid and smooth binding.) Once that was fixed, there was still some tweaking with edit membership as well as adding some flexors to the joint. But it came out nicely.

THanks alot man!
capella62874 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.