SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Just a Stupid Starway Model

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
10-03-2016, 09:41 PM   #1
telmog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 5
Just a Stupid Starway Model
Can some kind sole out there in Simply Maya vill please check out this scene file. Maya 2013



It is just a stairway I plan to attach to a greater ship assembly. But it keeps crashing like a son-of-a-bitch. Usually during combining, separating or test rendering (in mental ray). I've tried different version. With and without sud-div polys, but it's still very unwieldy.



It only has one texture file and one transference map.



It also takes forever to save and open!!!!!!!



For sure there is something thing I am missing. I'm only an amateur Maya modeler.



Thanks



Telmo

Jimgra@rogers.com
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	STAIRWAY .jpeg
Views:	141
Size:	30.7 KB
ID:	57109  
Attached Files
File Type: zip STARWAY GOOD.zip (555.0 KB, 47 views)
File Type: zip texture.zip (224.5 KB, 46 views)

Last edited by telmog; 10-03-2016 at 09:54 PM.
  Reply with quote
10-03-2016, 10:18 PM   #2
mythandra
Subscriber
 
mythandra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 154
I just combined it no issues mate - does take a little while to save though
Attached Files
File Type: zip STARWAY GOOD.zip (317.7 KB, 35 views)
__________________
Custom built W10 Pro 64 bit, Hazwell Intel 5820, Asus X99 MOBO, 32 GB DDR4 Ram, EVGA nVidia GTX1080 Founders Edition, 512GB SSD Primary HDD, 16TB Storage, 27" Samsung 4k Display. Wacom 27QHD, Oculus Rift CV1
  Reply with quote
11-03-2016, 03:02 AM   #3
telmog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 5
Hi

Thanks for your reply.

Any idea why such a little scene like this should take so long to save, and did you try to render it in mental ray?

Telmog
  Reply with quote
11-03-2016, 07:29 PM   #4
mythandra
Subscriber
 
mythandra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 154
not sure what you have done - it also crashes Maya when trying to render - i have managed to sort this for you by exporting to obj the stairs and re-importing into a fresh scene, renders no issue now. you will just need to do a tidy up.

Cheer Myth
Attached Files
File Type: zip working.zip (237.0 KB, 37 views)
__________________
Custom built W10 Pro 64 bit, Hazwell Intel 5820, Asus X99 MOBO, 32 GB DDR4 Ram, EVGA nVidia GTX1080 Founders Edition, 512GB SSD Primary HDD, 16TB Storage, 27" Samsung 4k Display. Wacom 27QHD, Oculus Rift CV1
  Reply with quote
12-03-2016, 04:49 AM   #5
telmog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 5
There is nothing in the maya scene you sent me it is completely empty
  Reply with quote
12-03-2016, 04:51 AM   #6
telmog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 5
I am on maya 2013
  Reply with quote
13-03-2016, 10:24 AM   #7
mythandra
Subscriber
 
mythandra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 154
ahh - i am on 2016
__________________
Custom built W10 Pro 64 bit, Hazwell Intel 5820, Asus X99 MOBO, 32 GB DDR4 Ram, EVGA nVidia GTX1080 Founders Edition, 512GB SSD Primary HDD, 16TB Storage, 27" Samsung 4k Display. Wacom 27QHD, Oculus Rift CV1
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with bending/flexing a basic model chompyrud Animation 15 17-04-2015 08:03 PM
Floating Toolbox's MAYA madness TravisCowsill Work In Progress 50 05-01-2013 09:42 PM
problem translating model leotikansas Maya Modeling 6 15-08-2006 06:22 PM
Make a model for real Velusion Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 10 01-05-2006 11:34 PM
Febuary Model - Topic Kevin Previous Challenges (Archives) 24 01-03-2003 06:46 AM