SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / zbrush and displacement maps.

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
10-04-2009, 06:52 PM   #1
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
zbrush and displacement maps.
ok - a quick question about zbrush and displacement maps. when i export a displacement map from zbrush - i use the displacement tab under my tool menu. i turn on adaptive, put dpres at 2048, intensity between 3-6, press mode and hit create displacement.

i open the tiff in ps, switch it to rgb and invert it vertically. in maya i make sure the imported objects feature displacement is turned off and i create displacement and subdivision stuff using the mr approximation editor. last i add a script on the displacement file's alpha offset telling it to be half of alpha gain.

ok, that seems to work fine and seems pretty easy once you get the hang of it. what i don't get, is that everyone seems to be using multi displacement 3 which seems like kind of a headache. what are the advantages of using multi displacement 3 - does it make better displacement maps?

thanks.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
  Reply with quote
10-04-2009, 08:31 PM   #2
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Re: zbrush and displacement maps.
Quote:
Originally posted by arran
ok - a quick question about zbrush and displacement maps. when i export a displacement map from zbrush - i use the displacement tab under my tool menu. i turn on adaptive, put dpres at 2048, intensity between 3-6, press mode and hit create displacement.

i open the tiff in ps, switch it to rgb and invert it vertically. in maya i make sure the imported objects feature displacement is turned off and i create displacement and subdivision stuff using the mr approximation editor. last i add a script on the displacement file's alpha offset telling it to be half of alpha gain.

ok, that seems to work fine and seems pretty easy once you get the hang of it. what i don't get, is that everyone seems to be using multi displacement 3 which seems like kind of a headache. what are the advantages of using multi displacement 3 - does it make better displacement maps?

thanks.
i think its best for higher rez disp
__________________
Image dump
  Reply with quote
10-04-2009, 08:47 PM   #3
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,281
Its used for Bit depth = 32 or 16. Plus there are different setups for different software in MD3.

J
  Reply with quote
11-04-2009, 01:35 AM   #4
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
got you - thanks guys - i'll see if i can get my head around it then.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zbrush displacement issues Rhetoric Camel Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 7 12-04-2009 08:47 PM
Maya 2009 zbrush displacement maps Anhslaught Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 7 25-12-2008 11:04 PM
Zbrush Displacement to Maya Problems shmey2 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 20-03-2008 06:19 PM
Maya and ZBrush displacement maps Radical Edward Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 9 18-10-2007 08:50 AM
Problem with displacement maps and subdiv Radical Edward Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 17-10-2007 10:54 AM