SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Modeling / Maya High to Low Poly

Maya Modeling Everything on Modeling Techniques and Tools - NURBS, Polygons and Subdivisions Related in this Section.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
01-09-2013, 05:25 PM   #1
cod3
Registered User
 
cod3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 11
Maya High to Low Poly
Hi everyone,

before posting this thread I searched forum on this topic. they have been discussing Maya along with ZBrush/Mudbox workflow.

I would like to know, if it is possible to convert a high > low poly ONLY/within Maya?

NOTE : Unfortunately I already UV mapped and also textured the model.

eg: I have a Car as shown in screenshot (more than 2 million polys). I want to have a low poly model, coz rendering a single frame takes around 5 mins (without any render passes). So how can this be accomplished.

Sorry for noob question, I have ignored this topic before, but "learned" things quite lately.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	High Poly car.jpg
Views:	4994
Size:	1,017.9 KB
ID:	54552  

Last edited by cod3; 01-09-2013 at 05:27 PM.
  Reply with quote
01-09-2013, 05:45 PM   #2
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,456
I know there are tools in 2014 and the new update in Sept that lets you do this after texturing (well they are in the videos anyway)

But I don`t know how to do it myself soz

Maya 2014 New Features: Advanced Modeling Workflow - YouTube

See thew first video here - http://www.autodesk.com/products/maya-lt/features
__________________
  Reply with quote
02-09-2013, 04:26 AM   #3
cod3
Registered User
 
cod3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 11
its maya 2013
Thanks for reply mate,

but should have mentioned earlier that I am using Maya 2013 (64 bit). How do people used to perform similar task (as shown in video maya 2014) in earlier Maya 2013?
  Reply with quote
08-10-2013, 08:19 AM   #4
Skalman
Registered User
 
Skalman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 293
if its made in mudbox you might be able to just step the poly-count number downŽby going through the menu's
__________________
20 year old guy from Sweden



Big Bob Marley fan
Love skateboarding
Maya, Mudbox and Photoshop user

Full name: Marcus Ralman


https://www.facebook.com/MarcusRalman3D

^ My facebook page ^
  Reply with quote
08-10-2013, 11:47 AM   #5
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Retopo mate, PITA. I have used the poly reduction tools in Maya and Max up to 2013, they suck. The machine will not interpolate very well, especially on something with that many polys.
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Command window error on Maya 2012 filip321 Maya Technical Issues 0 04-11-2015 08:46 PM
Low Poly dairy asle junkyBob Lighting & Rendering 3 13-04-2012 03:37 AM
High poly mods for games! lukedukeofpuke Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 6 29-08-2005 02:53 AM
replacing low rez animation by high res sam201 Animation 5 05-05-2005 12:42 AM
Low poly female RisTar Work In Progress 10 01-12-2004 07:37 PM