Maya 2020 fundamentals - modelling the real world
Get halfway through a model and find it's an unworkable mess? Can't add edge loops where you need them? Can't subdivide a mesh properly? If any of this sounds familiar check this course out.
# 1 08-10-2004 , 08:38 PM
cptgame's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 75

another assignment i need help with

Ok now my professor wants me to make a simulation of plant life utilizing maya 6s hair system...i have no clue how to do this at all. any help would be appreciated.

# 2 09-10-2004 , 09:08 AM
Psuedo Realizm's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In front of my computer
Posts: 258
isnt he supposed to teach you how its done first? or explain to you some ways to go about doing it? i dunno.. telling you what you have to do with no instruction on how its done, doesnt sound very education like.. i could that myself for free sitting here and giving myself certain goals on what i want to do...

sorry that was just my rant.. i dont know how this is done either.. so you can expect i'll be watching this threaduser added image


AIM: Psuedo Realizm
# 3 09-10-2004 , 11:55 AM
cptgame's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 75
Yeah well it's kind of a new thing to everyone i guess.

# 4 09-10-2004 , 12:10 PM
Zyk0tiK's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 800
check it, you could do like an Anenomie like in Finding Nemo, it's kinda plant life, or some kind of underwater weeds just sorta bobbing backwards and forwards with simulated water?


Last edited by Zyk0tiK; 09-10-2004 at 12:12 PM.
# 5 09-10-2004 , 12:23 PM
ckyuk's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,336
They show you how they did that on the DVD aswell. user added image

# 6 09-10-2004 , 06:27 PM
cptgame's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 75
Unfortuneately it isn't an underwater life. It needs to be more like moss/vines

# 7 11-10-2004 , 04:33 AM
Zyk0tiK's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 800
now i think about it... I remember reading somewhere that grass can be done with hair... realistic grass stylee... you could have some kinda creature running through the grass that like, when he moves through the grass it flows around him and stuff... would be also cool user added image

# 8 12-10-2004 , 06:58 AM
cptgame's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 75
it'd be cool yeah, but the question is how

# 9 12-10-2004 , 08:30 AM
Alan's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
well the hair system is dynamics and so you can use fields to move the grass and stuff with drag fields and turbulence etc. It should be pretty easy.

Alan


Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
# 10 12-10-2004 , 08:44 AM
cptgame's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 75
I've tried just making a hair system and adding fields to it but thye didn't do anything. I also don't know how i'd instance something on the hair system. Like i know how to paint hair on an object and how to just make hair but i don't know how i'd make grass be a hair system, or a vine be a hair system.

# 11 12-10-2004 , 10:45 AM
Alan's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
well you'd attach the hair to a plane and then make it short (actually thinking about it, does it have to be hair? or can it be fur? fur would be more suited to this!) either way, make the hair/fur nice and short and then adjust the amount of it so that you get a good coverage. Then from there you need to select the hair/fur and add dynamic fields to it (parented to moving objects if you want them to move around and disturb the grass etc.)

I can't really explain it further without making a sample file (dont have time at the moment) but look in the manual for the stuff about hair and using fields.

Alan


Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
# 12 12-10-2004 , 11:05 AM
ade90054's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: England
Posts: 143
Framestore, cool user added image

If you see one of your new runners about called Karl, make sure you work him to the bone, or comment on how crap he is at darts!! He'll like that user added image


"1.21 GIGAWATTS"
# 13 12-10-2004 , 11:28 AM
Ankalagon's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Novi Sad, Detelinara, Serbia
Posts: 468
I think that i sow that kind of tutorial at ****** site!!! Try there but also try with google search.


Best resolt would come, if every one in the group are doing what is best for himself and the group!!

Sorry for bad English, See ya
dead mosquito-blog-on english too
# 14 12-10-2004 , 01:03 PM
Alan's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
I'll look out for karl user added image


Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
# 15 13-10-2004 , 07:56 AM
Ankalagon's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Novi Sad, Detelinara, Serbia
Posts: 468
See at mtmckinley site!!


Best resolt would come, if every one in the group are doing what is best for himself and the group!!

Sorry for bad English, See ya
dead mosquito-blog-on english too
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads