SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Trying to make a "table leg" from CV Curve tool, just get a flag blob. . .
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-06-2005, 03:31 PM   #1
Spoudazo
Subscriber
 
Spoudazo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Trying to make a "table leg" from CV Curve tool, just get a flag blob. . .

I found a few tutorials online (by Googling of course ) and came across one to make a table leg. I did fine all the way through, but at the end when it's supposed to turn the CV curve into a pomplete 360 polygonal object, it just turns into a glob of mess. I'll post the pictures I took (by using the "PrtScn" button of course, for those who may have forgotten how to do so),
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	maya probl.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	124.9 KB
ID:	21784  
Spoudazo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2005, 03:32 PM   #2
Spoudazo
Subscriber
 
Spoudazo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

. . .then it turns into this blob. The guy doing the tutorial I think was using an older edition of Maya because he had a "Surface" button at the top of the screen.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	maya probl 2.jpg
Views:	128
Size:	110.6 KB
ID:	21785  
Spoudazo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2005, 05:48 PM   #3
brut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Revolve is set to the Y axis, and you've created your curve in the 'top' view insead of 'front'. Change to the Modeling toolset. Go to Surfaces-->Revolve, but click the tool options box. Then change the axis to Z. That should do it.
brut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2005, 07:23 PM   #4
alienscience
Subscriber
 
alienscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In the middle of nowhere in VA
Posts: 749
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Just to let you know, the modeling toolset is at the top. If you see where there is a white box that says animation, click on it, then go to modeling. And listen to brut, if you do what he says, everything should work fine.
alienscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2005, 08:02 PM   #5
Spoudazo
Subscriber
 
Spoudazo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thankyou so, so, so much Brut and alienscience.
:nod:
Spoudazo is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.