SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / i cant skin this head!!
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-12-2005, 07:23 PM   #1
captin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy i cant skin this head!!

hey guys i was wondering if you could help me with this problem. I seemed to have skinned a character set up the ik handles and point/orient constraints for the characters body which all works fine..however i did not skin the head along with the body at first..i was still working on it at the time and now i have all my blendshapes done and added some more geometry to the head such as eyes and hair etc. i tried binding this to the skelleton yet it says cannot bind because its not in its original binding position..is there anyway i can get past this without basically deleting all my work?
captin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2005, 07:25 PM   #2
captin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

also something i should ad is i must have parented the geometry of the first version of the head to something cuz that moves just fine...its the alterations i did..like the hair/eyebrows/eyes that stay where they are..and its stumping me
captin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2005, 09:55 PM   #3
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Skin on joint3 was bound at a different pose. Go to the
bindPose to attach new skins. if you canīt figure out what the skeletonīs joint XYZrotations were when you bound the skin onto it, I guess you might try to save your weight maps from the body and then detach and bind skin again. then you just need to import your weight maps from the body and weightpaint the head - I think.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2005, 11:06 PM   #4
captin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah didnt work..the problem is if i detach all my stuff i loose a bunch of history that i need for my rig to work..also i have eyes that are nerbs on a polygon body..im a student so i probably did it wrong..but is there any simple solution? that minimizes the loss of work hrs?
captin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2005, 11:37 PM   #5
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

If you want to post your scene, I could try to find something.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Female Head, Marlon John marlonjohn Work In Progress 18 13-01-2011 07:44 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.