SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / NURBS Attach Surfaces problem
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-10-2006, 11:27 PM   #1
Coldfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default NURBS Attach Surfaces problem

Im working on modelling a car from a tutorial. The tutorial doesn't say how to do anything really, so Im basically going on my own.



http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...es/ARGHHH1.jpg

Im trying to merge those 2 NURBS surfaces using "Attach Surfaces." When I try that this is what I end up with.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...es/ARGHHH2.jpg

The isoparms match up, I tried reverse surface direction, but it didnt help/ Anyone know how to fix it?

Last edited by Coldfire : 15-10-2006 at 11:33 PM.
Coldfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2006, 02:26 PM   #2
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i done this tut an had simialr probs
wen u chnge surface direction u have options an i fiddled with the for both sufaces to gt it to work
may not work for u though
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2006, 05:18 PM   #3
portermalone
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

before you attatch, select suface 1, right click and select isoparm. Select the isoparm that is touching surface 2. Then right click on surface 2, and select isoparm. Hold down shift and click and hold any isoparm on surface 2. Before releasing mouse drag isoparm 2 on surface 2 over the selected isoparm on surface 1. Then go to edit nurbs--Attatch.
portermalone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2006, 07:06 PM   #4
Coldfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

:attn: Got it fixed now, thanks for the help guys :attn: :bow:
Coldfire is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.