Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-10-2006, 12:27 AM   #1
Coldfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default NURBS Attach Surfaces problem

Im working on modelling a car from a tutorial. The tutorial doesn't say how to do anything really, so Im basically going on my own.



http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...es/ARGHHH1.jpg

Im trying to merge those 2 NURBS surfaces using "Attach Surfaces." When I try that this is what I end up with.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...es/ARGHHH2.jpg

The isoparms match up, I tried reverse surface direction, but it didnt help/ Anyone know how to fix it?

Last edited by Coldfire : 16-10-2006 at 12:33 AM.
Coldfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2006, 03:26 PM   #2
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i done this tut an had simialr probs
wen u chnge surface direction u have options an i fiddled with the for both sufaces to gt it to work
may not work for u though
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2006, 06:18 PM   #3
portermalone
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

before you attatch, select suface 1, right click and select isoparm. Select the isoparm that is touching surface 2. Then right click on surface 2, and select isoparm. Hold down shift and click and hold any isoparm on surface 2. Before releasing mouse drag isoparm 2 on surface 2 over the selected isoparm on surface 1. Then go to edit nurbs--Attatch.
portermalone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2006, 08:06 PM   #4
Coldfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

:attn: Got it fixed now, thanks for the help guys :attn: :bow:
Coldfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.