SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / Some strange problems with the split polygon tool do you know the anwser?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 14-05-2008, 12:40 PM   #1
Holland1985
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Some strange problems with the split polygon tool do you know the anwser?

Hello everybody,

Ive worked all day with maya to learn and understand the application and it's going verry well. I use the split tool all the time and I love it.

Now the strange thing is that when I use my split tool and set the first point on: 0 and the second point on: 0 and it doesnt work. The head turns red and I don't see a extra polygon. This option worked all day long.

When I do this handling on another ege or vertex point it works. I don't know what is going on. The posted picture is a picture of the problem.



I also made A video of the problem that you can download/watch here, I use my voice to speak and A screen recorder to record it.

Here is the link to the video:

Youtue: Im checking out the quality

Megaupload the best quality: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=NR7R7F8S


Im working on my first box polygon head, im not new to maya A few months ago I used it for sculpty's for second life and I want more then just that so Ive started to pick it up after a while to learn more about the applications. But this head is going well, ive started with the head form and the neck, after that the mouth and the eyes and the nose but now im just stuck and I can't get any furter becouse of this problem.

I need 1 one extra split to make it even like the other side.

Does someone know what is cousing this problem (I think it's me but I can't find out what it is I used google and everything) So the last thing I could do was register at this board and hope if someone with experience could help me solve this problem.

Sorry for my english I come from Holland,

Greetings,

Bart van Gorphttp://www.megaupload.com/?d=NR7R7F8S

Last edited by Holland1985 : 14-05-2008 at 02:29 PM.
Holland1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2008, 12:58 PM   #2
AnthonyCg
Registered User
 
AnthonyCg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington D.C
Posts: 620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It could be many things. What error did the script editor give you?
__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."

George Bernard Shaw - Man and Superman
AnthonyCg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2008, 01:00 PM   #3
Holland1985
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I just got no error that's the strange thing about it. I think I did something wrong in the settings. But I just don't know what becouse I never did a strange thing in my eyes and I only use the buttons that I know. I follow allot of tutorials and know the most basics but this is just strange.

I uploaded a picture in my first post so you can see the problem.

And I made video of the problem too it's also in my first post.


Greetings,

Last edited by Holland1985 : 14-05-2008 at 02:30 PM.
Holland1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2008, 09:34 AM   #4
AnthonyCg
Registered User
 
AnthonyCg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington D.C
Posts: 620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok,sometimes Maya won't let you use the split poly tool on some faces. Go to the split poly options and turn off snapping. It should work now. You may have to make sure your vertexes are merged. Afterwards, turn snapping back on.
__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."

George Bernard Shaw - Man and Superman
AnthonyCg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2008, 01:32 AM   #5
Holland1985
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for your reply.

I started this thread ages ago but I still like Maya as much as always.

Ive been moving all over my country for the last 5 months, im back now on A new computer so I hope I can get maya started.
Holland1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.