SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / More motion path woes...
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-11-2009, 09:58 AM   #1
Rink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default More motion path woes...

Hi all,

I wasn't sure whether to place this in the Newbie forum or under Animation, so apologies to the mods if this is in the wrong place.

I'm currently at my wits end trying to achieve what I thought would be a fairly trivial task.

Frames 1 - 48, I have my camera keyframed to simple linear movement.

From 49-480 (or so), I want to attach the cam to a motion path.

From 481-?, I want to attach the cam to a *different* motion path.

Currently I'm stuck at the first hurdle - I can't attach a motion path to the cam because it's translation inputs are already set. And I can't seem to break the connections at a defined time - if I break them then the motion in 1-48 stops working.

Can someone point me in the right direction before I cry!?! :headbang:

Thanks guys.
Rink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 12:21 PM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,499
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

Well a shot in the dark here but, could you save three scenes for the different camera rigs?
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 01:40 PM   #3
Rink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GecT
Well a shot in the dark here but, could you save three scenes for the different camera rigs?
I could... but by the end there's going to be a lot more than three.

Ugh... I'm not sure what the best way to organise this project is going to be from here. But at least if I take your advice I can actually continue working

I think I underestimated how much of a skill in itself animating cameras etc. was.

Cheers bud.
Rink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 07:23 PM   #4
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

perhaps you could create more than one camera (i hope you're not animating your persp camera... a definate no-no)

then you can just batch render the frames you want or use the command line to render all the cameras without having to do any input
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 07:42 PM   #5
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,499
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

Yeah but wouldn't that add render time since your rendering frames you won't need?
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 07:43 PM   #6
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

no because you can tell the batch render which frames for which camera you want rendered i thought
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 07:37 AM   #7
Rink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've been playing around on this and I think the route I'm going to go down is a combination of the suggestions you've been kind enough to offer.

There'll probably be three saved scenes; each with maybe one or two cameras and some movements saved as clips in the Trax editor (then destroyed from the original keyframing line).

Not ideal but at least it should work; and I've lost some of the feelings of desperation I had when I started.

Thanks guys.
Rink is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.