SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-07-2003, 09:33 PM   #1
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default City Set

Iím building a city set to try my hand at animation, but Iím not sure on how big I should set the scale in the world for my objects. Any help would be great.
Thanks for your time
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2003, 11:18 AM   #2
mumbojumbo_13
Subscriber
 
mumbojumbo_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Land Down Under
Posts: 1,047
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

it doesnt really matter how big it is just make sure everything is relative to one object
hope that helps
__________________
Thanks for wasting your time reading this line.
mumbojumbo_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2003, 12:25 PM   #3
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

right mumbo, it really does not matter. but it might be good to use the maya units as a measurement - e.g. imagine one maya unit to be 1 meter. this way you can have accuracy up to 1 mm - should be enough for a city scene ...

p.s.: dont jump on me that you might be able to work more accurate - but if you enter numbers you are limited to 3 digits after the comma (or point) - i am not 100% sure if verts can be places more accurate ...

Last edited by BabyDuck : 25-07-2003 at 12:29 PM.
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2003, 03:56 PM   #4
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

RIGHT On Guys! Thanks for the info,,It realy dose help.. thanks
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2003, 12:49 PM   #5
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

how are you gonna build the city? one of the guys on my course is building a city procedurally using MEL. that would probably be easier than trying to model it all by hand....

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2003, 04:08 PM   #6
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

By hand at this point, I'm not good at MEL just yet, but I/ll be taking casses in the fall and hopefully will learn with out pulling my hair out the one reason I asked this question is when I go into the city to fix up some of the Detail I have a hard time getting close to the point where I want to fix, My move tool slows down and I have to push the mouse more to get to the point where I want.(if that makes sense) and ? not on this problem but dose any one have the problem of working in Maya and then the W-E-R- keys stop working and have to go to the tool bar to use them?
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2003, 05:27 PM   #7
I-Iybrid
Simply Maya OG
 
I-Iybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Queensbury NY, US A
Posts: 1,438
Thanks: 2
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Try selecting the object you want to fix up, and hit F. It'll focus on the object, and you'll be set.
__________________
- Hybrid
I-Iybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2003, 06:07 PM   #8
howardporter
Subscriber
 
howardporter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: usa
Posts: 985
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I had that problem, untill i realized i had the caps lock on
howardporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2003, 06:58 PM   #9
drknow
Registered User
 
drknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,033
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Just dont make it too big, or the objects will disappear when you scale out.
__________________
It's Dr. Know, Not Darknow
drknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2003, 07:10 PM   #10
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

view >> camera attribute editor >> far clip plane

change this value to a higher one and they wont dissapear

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2003, 07:16 PM   #11
drknow
Registered User
 
drknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,033
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Ahhh HAaaa........I knew I could change it. You just saved me some time man. Thanks.
__________________
It's Dr. Know, Not Darknow
drknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2003, 07:19 PM   #12
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

you're welcome. and obviously if there is something close up that is disappearing changing the near clip plane to a smaller number will stop that happening

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2003, 10:14 AM   #13
Harvezter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BabyDuck
right mumbo, it really does not matter. but it might be good to use the maya units as a measurement - e.g. imagine one maya unit to be 1 meter.


BabyDuck, what do you mean by a Maya Unit? Do you mean the units of the grid itself? like one square on the grid is one unit? (or to be thought of as 1 squ meter as you suggested above?)
Harvezter is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.