SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Technical Issues / Maya stopped running altogether

Maya Technical Issues Post all your interface and configuration related problems with Maya software here.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
20-01-2010, 04:23 AM   #1
benjiharmonix
Registered User
 
benjiharmonix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: gold coast, Australia
Posts: 2
Maya stopped running altogether
imac 3Gz 4gig RAM
Maya version 2010 student 6month licence.
Problem: Nothing opens except the script window with the following***
// Error: file: /Applications/Autodesk/maya2010/Maya.app/Contents/scripts/startup/layerEditor.mel line 4137: Could not find attribute named "defaultRenderLayer.precompTemplate" //
// MayaLive version 2010// cgfxShader 4.4 for Maya 2010.0 (Jul 28 2009)
updateRendererUI;
// Error: file: /Applications/Autodesk/maya2010/Maya.app/Contents/scripts/live/mlCreateUI.mel line 155: Object not found: . //
// Error: file: /Applications/Autodesk/maya2010/Maya.app/Contents/scripts/others/addMenuItemSafe.mel line 63: Object not found: mainRenderMenu. //
It happened after opening a tutorial scene file. I think i tried to 'Set the project' to a location, just to get in the habit of doing so. Not sure if that screwed it somehow. Uninstalled and re-installed software. Same result. Makes me think it's a screwed up directory (says me, who is pc illiterate beyong using software)
  Reply with quote
20-01-2010, 04:45 AM   #2
anasasis
Registered User
 
anasasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 347
does it still do this away from that tutorial scene
  Reply with quote
20-01-2010, 03:54 PM   #3
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Uninstall, delete your preferences, then reinstall.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
  Reply with quote
23-01-2010, 02:23 AM   #4
benjiharmonix
Registered User
 
benjiharmonix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: gold coast, Australia
Posts: 2
Thankyou so much!!!!
Uninstalled, deleted maya preferences folder, reinstalled
and it runs fine now.
Big cheers!!
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More maya problems ctbram Maya Technical Issues 20 01-12-2012 11:18 PM
maya freezes when running Apache refplanes script warthoggraphics Maya Technical Issues 26 04-10-2006 08:51 PM
Spec for running Maya smoothly j5ive Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 8 28-02-2005 08:45 PM
Maya vs. 3DS, Light Wave, Rhino ino ect... THX1138 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 45 17-09-2003 02:09 PM