Digital humans the art of the digital double
Ever wanted to know how digital doubles are created in the movie industry? This course will give you an insight into how it's done.
# 1 27-12-2006 , 12:56 PM
arran's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708

arran - jan/feb

Ok - I think I am going to enter this one. I was thinking of making a robot, but then I decided to make a Hotei.

Here is a reference image that I will be using. Not sure if I will keep him fairly close to this ref, or make my own version of him. I am also not sure whether I will model him in his final pose or just make an animatable character that I put into the pose.

Good luck to everyone else! user added image

Attached Thumbnails
# 2 27-12-2006 , 01:51 PM
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Perhaps try modeling only the character, posing him, and then modeling the robe so that the angles are as accurate as possible.

# 3 27-12-2006 , 09:03 PM
THX1138's Avatar
19 year Veteran
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,140
Very nice concept arran! I reccomend modeling him in a pose, that way you avoid having to rig him, but thats just a suggestion though.

# 4 02-01-2007 , 11:30 AM
arran's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Ok - finally made a start on him today - I think I am going to base his face on a ref from 3dsk and then pull it into the expression later on.

Attached Thumbnails
# 5 02-01-2007 , 11:33 AM
THX1138's Avatar
19 year Veteran
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,140
Very nice progress if I must say. user added image

# 6 02-01-2007 , 05:30 PM
younglion's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: t-dot
Posts: 646
nice start man, well this is going to be an interesting competition with so many good entries

# 7 03-01-2007 , 04:50 PM
gster123's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Good going so far Arran, from your poly model you can definatly see its that guy you took references from!!

Looking forward to how this pans out!!


"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
# 8 05-01-2007 , 10:17 PM
Some Guy's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
This'll be great once its done.
Good work so far user added image


"If Less is more then think how much more more would be..."


Winner June 2009 Spaceship Challenge
# 9 06-01-2007 , 11:34 PM
arran's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
hey - thanks everyone for all of the great comments!user added image

Here's a quick update - still blocking out the head and I made a start on the ears. He has lost some of his character so I am going to have spend a bit of time working on that...

One problem that I am having is that I turned on border highlights, but now I can't seem to turn it off. I went back into preferences and put the settings back to normal, but no luck. I even reset preferences to the default and also deleted user prefs, but it makes no difference...any ideas?

Attached Thumbnails
# 10 06-01-2007 , 11:38 PM
arran's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Also started blocking out his body - check out those man breasts!

Attached Thumbnails
# 11 07-01-2007 , 01:07 AM
tweetytunes's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,457
maybe you should also have a nude references/imagry warning warning in your title with those man boobs. :p hehe

as 4 your problem :
i thought border edges were under

display>polygon compants (maya 7)
or
display > polygons (maya 8)

not under prefs

just selete the parts and hit the command and they should go away

looking very cool by the way, very nice head.



Last edited by tweetytunes; 07-01-2007 at 01:14 AM.
# 12 07-01-2007 , 01:12 AM
vladimirjp's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871

Originally posted by tweetytunes
with those man boobs. :p

aka "moobs" user added image

# 13 07-01-2007 , 02:08 PM
gster123's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300

Originally posted by vladimirjp
aka "moobs" user added image

LOL!!


"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
# 14 07-01-2007 , 09:54 PM
arran's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
yeah, that worked - thanks tweetytunes!user added image

Originally posted by vladimirjp
aka "moobs" user added image

I only noticed the other day that stewie blinks. Nearly freaked me out!

# 15 07-01-2007 , 10:51 PM
tweetytunes's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,457

Originally posted by arran
yeah, that worked - thanks tweetytunes!user added image

glad to help


Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is Off | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads