SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / merge vertex help
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-03-2011, 10:16 PM   #1
gtovey
Registered User
 
gtovey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon!!
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
Default merge vertex help

my merge vertex tool is not letting me merge vertices??!!
gtovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 10:28 PM   #2
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

select two vertices and click merge vertices.
if it doesn't work then the tolerance is too low
click the options box in the menu next to merge vertices and you'll see the tolerance thing.

personally i keep it low so when i merge two meshes together i can select all the verts and hit merge without all of them merging into one vertex.

you can change the merge tolerance as well in the mesh's history (provided you have history turned on)
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 11:08 PM   #3
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Im with chirone...I keep mine at 0.001 or 0.0001 for the same reason. If they are too far apart snap them one onto the other...or scale tool works as well..then have a go at it. If you change the tolerance...change it back LOL otherwise a cube becomes a point LOL...Ive done it

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 11:20 PM   #4
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Do you mean the interactive tool? How is it not working? Sometimes I find mine doesn't want to lock onto a vertex, but if I exit the tool and re-enter, it works fine.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 02:04 AM   #5
gtovey
Registered User
 
gtovey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon!!
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
Default

thank you thank you thank you!!! all of u guys!
gtovey is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is Vertex Face good 4 ? Joey81 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 6 20-02-2011 11:17 AM
Vertex going crazy in "Paint skin weights tool" joni.giuro Animation 3 19-01-2011 12:46 PM
Multiple Merge ColdWave Modeling 2 14-12-2010 11:47 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.