Integrating 3D models with photography
Interested in integrating your 3D work with the real world? This might help
# 1 14-07-2012 , 02:49 AM
mike-ster
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England
Posts: 23

zbrush texture help.

I know this is a maya site but since i've seen multiple zbrush posts, i was wondering if anyone has any knowledge when it comes to setting up a texture map to then export out from zbrush into maya. And also setting up a displacement map in zbrush and then applying it into maya.


Here's a snap shot of the character I'm working on in zbrush. I've already UV'd the character within zbrush.

Attached Thumbnails
# 2 14-07-2012 , 03:33 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sliema Malta
Posts: 497
You just need to go to the texture map and displacement categories within your tool dialogue on the right and create and clone. You then go over to the texture box on the left and export. There is also a Multimap exporter in the plugins box on top that will pump out all maps at once.

As for Maya I don't know. Sorry about the lack of help on that end. It will be heavily reliant on scale set up properly.


Last edited by Chavfister; 14-07-2012 at 03:39 AM.
# 3 14-07-2012 , 08:27 AM
daverave's Avatar
The thin red line
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472




Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
# 4 14-07-2012 , 09:38 AM
mike-ster
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England
Posts: 23
Thanks, i managed to export the maps out but when I brought the texture map into maya i got a real strange result.. I think the problem is my UV. I used zbrush UV master and pressed unwrap all. But it looks like i'm going to have to redo the uv's again and take my time with it.. Do you think the problem is with the uvs?

Attached Thumbnails
# 5 14-07-2012 , 10:58 AM
daverave's Avatar
The thin red line
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Its not your UVs I think you need to flip the texture in zbrush before you export it...........dave




Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
# 6 15-07-2012 , 03:27 AM
mike-ster
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England
Posts: 23
I flipped the texture in V and i'm still getting this strange result.

# 7 15-07-2012 , 12:24 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sliema Malta
Posts: 497
post a file. But I agree with Dave. Open your UV editor in Maya and your texture in PS and see if they match.


Last edited by Chavfister; 15-07-2012 at 12:26 PM.
# 8 15-07-2012 , 11:50 PM
mike-ster
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England
Posts: 23
I just realised, when i check the uv editor in maya, I see nothting! I used zbrush uv master to layout the uv's, but I would of thought that the uv layout would have been seen in maya also. I'm confused at this point. I'm completely new to this.

Attached Thumbnails
# 9 16-07-2012 , 08:28 AM
daverave's Avatar
The thin red line
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
You need to create a UV snapshot in maya you will find it in the UV editor, make the snapshot the same size as your texture...............dave




Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
# 10 16-07-2012 , 10:19 AM
mike-ster
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England
Posts: 23
Dave, I've selected my character but i cannot see the uv layout in the uv editor. Its just a blank canvas. Why is that?

Attached Thumbnails
# 11 16-07-2012 , 11:19 AM
daverave's Avatar
The thin red line
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Are you selecting the mesh in object mode?...............dave




Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
# 12 16-07-2012 , 11:42 AM
mike-ster
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England
Posts: 23
Yes I have. I uv'd the model in zbrush uv master and then imported that mesh into maya. I had assumed that the uv layout would have gone along with the model when i exported it, but apparently it hasn't.. Its either that or i'm doing something wrong again.

# 13 16-07-2012 , 01:59 PM
daverave's Avatar
The thin red line
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
I dont know why your UV arnt showing as it looks like you have them on the model, could you upload your scene file with texture and we will have a look..........dave




Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
# 14 16-07-2012 , 11:18 PM
mike-ster
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England
Posts: 23
Ok, here is the scene and texture map.

Attached Files
File Type: zip alien character final model.OBJ.zip (594.3 KB, 232 views) File Type: zip alien character texture map.TIF.zip (514.7 KB, 228 views)
# 15 17-07-2012 , 01:40 AM
bullet1968's Avatar
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
There are no UV's dave......here is what MR gave me in the editor

// Warning: (Mayatomr.Scene) : alien_character_final_model:Group2Shape: empty UV set map1 detected, ignored

cheers bullet


bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads