Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 2
This course will look in the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. It's aimed at people that have some modeling experience in Maya but are having trouble with complex objects.
# 1 21-04-2013 , 09:06 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 53

Maya how to edit rewind hotkey

Maya how to edit rewind hotkey?

I can deal with alt v - for playback toggle

But I want to create hotkey alt c - for rewind

I tried opening mel and searching in HotKey editor...

But can't figure out how create this hotkey....

Also, if possible can anyone suggest a cool site or list of Hotkeys the PROS use... It would be a great share.

Thanks All
Dan


Last edited by danielchappelle; 21-04-2013 at 09:07 PM. Reason: typo
# 2 22-04-2013 , 03:29 AM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,522
You can use the play command. Query if the timeline is currently playing back, if yes, stop it, if not, play in reverse. This allows for it to be toggled instead of using another key for stopping.

Code:
if(`play -q -state` ==1)
	play -state 0;
else
	play -forward 0;

Disregarding functions tied to various plug-ins, commercial and otherwise, I should think that what hotkeys get used comes down to the goal and the user's preferences. Maybe there is one out there but I can imagine it being a nightmare to sift through the endless setups.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::

Last edited by Gen; 22-04-2013 at 03:33 AM. Reason: didn't really explain a couple things.
# 3 23-04-2013 , 02:33 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 53
Gen
I am confused.
Your script works fine to rewind, but for me it loops in rewind - this must be my animation playback settings - I'll check.
But it is odd that there is no - go to start frame.

Seems to me it would be useful for all.

Simply PLAY, REWIND, PLAY.

I was under the impression every thing in maya can be seen in the mel command window - but when you click rewind no mel commands display, the box is empty - for lack of a better way of putting it.
Thanks for input.
Dan

# 4 23-04-2013 , 09:30 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,522
If you turn go to "History>Echo all commands" in the script editor you can see the code that performs the same as what I just posted (I didn't even check, I just jumped on the play command lol).

Code:
playButtonBackward;
There's even a command in the hotkey editor already too, in the playback controls category. However this one does not toggle like above.

And there is a go to start frame command.
Code:
playButtonStart;
Just create a new hotkey for it.

Attached Images

- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads