SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / Polygon Count
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2003, 08:21 AM   #1
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Polygon Count

Simple question but I still don't know how you do it in Maya - How to you get a polygon count?
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 08:55 AM   #2
aldudeau
Subscriber
 
aldudeau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 360
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

display>ui elements > polygon count
__________________
MSN: mizin_alex@hotmail.com
E-MAIL: mizina@alphalink.com.au
aldudeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 10:15 AM   #3
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Gee Fanks Mate! Slight change though for all other viewers:
Display>Heads Up Display>Poly Count...

God why don't I open my eyes and look...

BTW Is this really the best Maya website out there I haven't been to too many?
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 10:45 AM   #4
^^TwEeK^^
Registered User
 
^^TwEeK^^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes it is....
__________________
- TwEeK
^^TwEeK^^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 03:57 PM   #5
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Just to clarify, the Poly Count HUD only shows hard-edged polys not triangles (which is generally what is meant by poly count). You can test this with a cube. Create a cube and you'll see the poly count is 6. Triangulate the cube (Polygons > Triangulate) and you'll see the poly count change to 12. Keep this in mind as you're working with more complex models.

You can get accurate counts either by using the Triangle Count HUD from the Bonus Game tools or using this script:

polyEvaluate -f;

This command will show you the triangle count of the selected object(s) in the command line.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 11:17 PM   #6
fredriksson
Subscriber
 
fredriksson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 571
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Or you could save it as a surprise for later
GAPM 0.0 info : triangle count excluding retessellation : 969648
GAPM 0.0 info : triangle count including retessellation : 969648

__________________
Björn 'santa' Fredriksson

<A href=http://www.bjornfredriksson.com>Site Online.</A>

Check out our 1on1on1 battle for the SandCrawlers.
fredriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2003, 04:38 AM   #7
foxhound
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This is the best Maya site in term of a good learning experience with all the available tutorials that are simply great.The forums are always helpfull with the moderators doing a good job of helping us out.

There are other Maya sites out there that have training videos but they tend to wait untill the software company(Alias,Discreet)sponsor them to make a video for their fans.In some cases you dont even get a training video the entire year!.

Not im not a Simply Maya employee but i am a satisfied customer that know's a good Maya site when he see's them.
foxhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2003, 04:54 AM   #8
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Thanks, foxhound! Hope you stick with us for a while.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2003, 04:58 PM   #9
ecofriend
Registered User
 
ecofriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

is another place I found very helpful for maya tutorials. The one problem with this site is that you cannot download the video for review later.

*********************************/digita....php?vcat=mbas

best
ecofriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2003, 03:07 AM   #10
drknow
Registered User
 
drknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,033
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

yes you can ........not too hard if you know how to use view source lol......I know im not supposed to, but come on.
__________________
It's Dr. Know, Not Darknow
drknow is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.