Maya 2020 fundamentals - modelling the real world
Get halfway through a model and find it's an unworkable mess? Can't add edge loops where you need them? Can't subdivide a mesh properly? If any of this sounds familiar check this course out.
# 1 09-09-2003 , 10:09 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 13

Scripts Or Plugins For Clouds


# 2 09-09-2003 , 05:25 PM
ragecgi's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Well, that particular shot was done one of 2 ways.

1. Using that "psuedo-volume" cloud plugin for Max.

2. Simple compositing with the animated opacity of cloud layer footage combined with multi-planing.

If you are looking at doing the types of cloud work that was done for "Die Another Day", then might I suggest www.artbeats.com
as they have a fantastic array of all types of cloud footage to use for compositing.

Other than the Digital Nature Tools set of plugins from Arete.
https://www.areteis.com/products/maya...e/overview.htm

Other than the "VolumeGas" plugin at Highend, There really aren't many plugins or scripts available for Maya.
(only compiled for Maya 3 I think, not sure tho)

You could also use the PaintFX clouds brushes attached and/or painted onto curves and/or geometry allowing your objects to fly through.

Another thing I might try would be the tut at 3dtreat, as it's got some good ideasuser added image


Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
# 3 17-09-2003 , 08:42 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 13
I tried to install the test version of dnt premiere in maya 5 anf I can not get it to work

Can you please see if you can get it installed and if so take some notes

# 4 17-09-2003 , 02:59 PM
ragecgi's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Sorry man, I don't have my Maya machine untill the weekend of October 10thuser added image

(don't ask)

You CAN email the Arete team of support staff, as they are pretty quick in getting back to folks I've heard.

Personally, I've got no use for DNT, and even Digital Domain says that the DNT renderer is WAY too slow to run decent enough on a single machine.

If it is a plugin demo that you downloaded, double check these basic plugin troubleshooting tips first:

-is it only written specificly for Complete or Unlimited? ..or both?
-which version of Maya 5 do you have? (Uln, Compl, PLE?)
-It will not work on PLE most likely.... just fyiuser added image
-make sure the plugin appears, and is loaded in the plugin manager.
-could there be an OS conflict issue? (98, XP, 2K, Mac 'only' etc?)

just shooting in the dark here....


Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
# 5 04-10-2003 , 04:16 PM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 32
If you want high quality clouds that u can actually fly through.
Use Fluids. Amazing 3d clouds that u can actually fly through. You can also create a 2d container with clouds that you can fly through saving you the cost of long render times that 3d clouds will give you.Check out the presets in the fluids that come with Maya.You wont be dissapointed.

# 6 06-10-2003 , 05:04 PM
ragecgi's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Good points poly9k!


Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
# 7 06-10-2003 , 11:14 PM
Subscriber
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 338


------------------------------------------------
Alex V. U. Strarup

One mistake can ruin it all...
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads