Maya 2020 fundamentals - modelling the real world
Get halfway through a model and find it's an unworkable mess? Can't add edge loops where you need them? Can't subdivide a mesh properly? If any of this sounds familiar check this course out.
# 1 24-07-2013 , 06:46 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15

Lamberts, Blinns, and Shaders

I'm currently trying to have my model be more saturated in color. All the materials are Lamberts, except for the chrome, which is a Blinn. I am rendering with mental ray selected, and I created a Natural Sun and Sky for the render. The only problem is how everything looks unsaturated and brightened.

https://imgur.com/DLvozxi

Any suggestions for materials to help keep the color of the car from becoming brightened?

# 2 24-07-2013 , 07:50 PM
mickhah's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Posts: 229
when you are using mental ray, youre better working with mental ray shaders. and don't forget about gamma control.

# 3 25-07-2013 , 09:46 AM
bullet1968's Avatar
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
mickhah is correct, use mia material x or mia metallic shaders... reduce the mulitplier in the sun parameters to 0.8

cheers bullet


bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
# 4 25-07-2013 , 09:53 AM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,522
You've just run into Maya/MR's dreaded gamma issue. I was right there where you are some time ago and did a blog post about the problem and the solution. --->Link


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 5 25-07-2013 , 03:23 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15
Thanks, Gen. That helped my coloring issue a bit. Sadly something else popped up. After I applied the gamma correction, my UVs either distorted or randomized themselves. I'm also missing some colored areas from the model, as if Maya ignored the UV placement.


user added image

The top part of the picture is the desired color, the rendered view is the resulting color (I'll keep playing with the gamma values).


user added image

The top part is the properly mapped UVs, the Rendered view is my result. I have absolutely no idea why this is happening. I tested to see if it was due to a high reflection attribute, but the outcome was the same.


Just a heads up, these are two different versions of the same file. I'm testing/tampering with one while keeping the other without changes.

# 6 25-07-2013 , 08:25 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,522
The gamma value on the gamma node should be .454

The gamma on the exposure shader should stay 2.2.

Can you post the scene? I'm very curious about the strange striping.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 7 25-07-2013 , 08:39 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15
I can't upload the project for some reason. If it isn't too much to ask, can you send me your email so I can send it to you as an attachment?

# 8 26-07-2013 , 03:11 AM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,522
To help avoid spam, I won't post that here. Its on the contact page on my blog, see sig below.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 9 29-07-2013 , 07:32 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15
user added image

This is my UV Map layout, as requested. I took a screenshot of the photoshop file, and the UV lines are on a separate layer that I can deactivate.

# 10 30-07-2013 , 03:37 AM
bullet1968's Avatar
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Mate just ZIP your file and post it in here, I would like to have a gander at this myself...include the PS file in the zip.

Cheers bullet


bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
# 11 30-07-2013 , 07:28 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15
Fixed it. The problem was the Filter Type for the imported UV Texture. It was set to Quadratic. I switched it to None and everything fixed itself.

user added image

# 12 31-07-2013 , 11:23 AM
bullet1968's Avatar
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
You have extreme edge displacement on the door mate?? why?


bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
# 13 05-08-2013 , 12:55 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15
It's because of the Crease Tool. Damn things adds shadows whenever there shouldn't be. Kinda annoying.

# 14 05-08-2013 , 02:40 PM
NextDesign's Avatar
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Never... Ever... Use the crease tool; It causes so many issues, both inside Maya, and when you export to other applications. Add in extra geometry instead.


Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 15 05-08-2013 , 04:47 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,522
Daytonpa, I don't know if you've checked your email lately. Issues with creases is on the list of things you might want to consider.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off