Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 1
This course will look at the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. We'll look at what makes a good model in Maya and why objects are modeled in the way they are.
# 1 12-04-2005 , 01:36 PM
frippz's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 11

Can I hide edges from Maya Vector?

I'm modeling a house that will be rendered with Maya Vector. As you can see from the screenshots, I will be rendering with outlines too give it a drawing/cartoon like look. But some edges are not wanted as outlined.

user added image

user added image

user added image

Is there any way to have Maya Vector omit these edges?

P.S.
I did try to use boolean instead of cutting faces and edges in order to achieve a window, but it would never work. Any other options perhaps to make a window?


//frippz

Last edited by frippz; 12-04-2005 at 01:39 PM.
# 2 12-04-2005 , 01:41 PM
Alan's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
delete the edges then they won't show up! user added image you wont have a nice mesh but it shouldn't matter.

Alan


Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
# 3 12-04-2005 , 01:44 PM
frippz's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 11
That won't work, I'm afraid. I tried it, but Maya says that it cannot delete border edges.


//frippz
# 4 18-04-2005 , 12:32 PM
frippz's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 11
Any suggestions at all?


//frippz
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads