Maya 2020 fundamentals - modelling the real world
Get halfway through a model and find it's an unworkable mess? Can't add edge loops where you need them? Can't subdivide a mesh properly? If any of this sounds familiar check this course out.
# 1 19-03-2006 , 12:38 PM
13th_resident's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: London
Posts: 703

a simple minded kid with "edge" questions....

Iam half way to modeling a ear for my character.
i want to know where i can find an option to make edges into a face?

i have here a screenshot of what i mean.
i want too make a face in the highlighted area.
how can i achieve it?? excluding "merge vertices" i want to keep the vertices in the same place.

Attached Thumbnails

A pint of example is worth a gallon of advice!!
# 2 19-03-2006 , 01:36 PM
MattTheMan's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
polygons-fill hole (or it might be edit polygons)

or append to polygon tool


Live the life you love, love the life you live
# 3 19-03-2006 , 01:55 PM
13th_resident's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: London
Posts: 703
both those tools only work on border edges...shame.
is there any other way?? unless there is a method of making any edge to a border edge :p


A pint of example is worth a gallon of advice!!
# 4 19-03-2006 , 02:26 PM
Joopson's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,314
extrude 1 of the edges, then you merge the vertices that arent connected


Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
# 5 19-03-2006 , 04:39 PM
13th_resident's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: London
Posts: 703
thanks joopson that worked.....great.

but is it still possible to get a group of edges (like the screenshot above) and make a face with out changing around the vertices?


A pint of example is worth a gallon of advice!!
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads