Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 2
This course will look in the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. It's aimed at people that have some modeling experience in Maya but are having trouble with complex objects.
# 1 31-01-2007 , 11:29 PM
gster123's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300

Wireframe on Individual Objects

Hey guys,

I'm setting up some character controls for a rig that i'm building using some poly objects (some Cubes) for the control objects. Is there any was that I can just get the cubes to be displayed as a wireframe object when the character is in shaded mode?

Cheers


"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
# 2 01-02-2007 , 12:03 AM
publicFunction's Avatar
Senior Software Developer
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
I dont think there is anything "off the shelf" in Maya that can do this. I reckon tho that MEL would have to be the way forward, maybe reverse engineer the x-ray object mel script and set it up to change the selected object to Wireframe.


Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
# 3 01-02-2007 , 12:06 AM
gster123's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Oh well, think I'll use another way of controling it, as I said its just for a control object.


"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
# 4 01-02-2007 , 12:14 AM
publicFunction's Avatar
Senior Software Developer
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
I would use Nurbs circles, curves or cubes instead as they do not render.


Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
# 5 01-02-2007 , 12:19 AM
gster123's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Yeah, thata what I've been using, just that a cube would have "fitted" what I wanted it for.

I was going to make it not renderable any who.


"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
# 6 01-02-2007 , 05:42 AM
starjsjswars's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Yea i was thinking you can just shape a nurb.


A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
# 7 01-02-2007 , 07:06 AM
gster123's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Going to re-do the whole thing, its gone well funkey and I aint a clue why!

Oh well thats part of learning, if you aint failing you aint pushing yourself!


"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads