Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 2
This course will look in the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. It's aimed at people that have some modeling experience in Maya but are having trouble with complex objects.
# 1 10-03-2009 , 04:14 PM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5

Command polyToSubdiv failed

Hey everyone.

So I'm making this trophy in 3D Maya and I want to convert it from Polygones to Sub Divisions. But when I try to convert it I get an error:

// Error: Command polyToSubdiv failed. Open Script Editor for details.

In the Script Editor it says:

polyToSubdiv -ap 0 -ch off -aut on -maxPolyCount 1000 -maxEdgesPerVert 32 |polySurface3|polySurfaceShape4;
// Warning: Nothing is selected. Select objects or components to delete. //
// Error: polyToSubdiv1 (Poly To Subdiv Node): Cannot create subdivision surface as the resulting surface would have more base mesh faces (1150) than the maximum allowed (1000).
// To increase maximum allowed, change Maximum Base Mesh Faces in Convert to Subdiv Options. //
// Error: Command polyToSubdiv failed. Open Script Editor for details. //

Ive got some images here:

user added image user added image user added image

Does anyone have a clue of what could be wrong?

Edit: Already tried to increase the "Maximum base mesh faces". As well as trying to use the "Clean up" function. None of them work.


Last edited by Klock; 10-03-2009 at 04:19 PM.
# 2 10-03-2009 , 04:50 PM
honestdom's Avatar
The Nurb Herd
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381

Re: Command polyToSubdiv failed

you have kinda answered your own question...

I think this is your problem

Cannot create subdivision surface as the resulting surface would have more base mesh faces (1150) than the maximum allowed (1000).

and this is your solution

To increase maximum allowed, change Maximum Base Mesh Faces in Convert to Subdiv Options.


# 3 10-03-2009 , 04:52 PM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5
Yeah. I know, but when I increase the Maximum base mesh faces it still doesnt work.

# 4 10-03-2009 , 08:41 PM
Chirone's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
are you sure?
post a screen shot of your options box when you convert to sub-d and then if it happens again as you claim then post the screen shot of the error message




that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
# 5 12-03-2009 , 02:57 PM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5
Alright here's some more screeshots.

user added image user added image user added image

Thanks in advance. user added image

# 6 12-03-2009 , 03:17 PM
honestdom's Avatar
The Nurb Herd
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
why don't you increase the number of polys to 1150 rather than 10k.
...also why do you want to convert to sub-d?

# 7 12-03-2009 , 08:00 PM
Chirone's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
and it still refused to convert after you did the cleanup on nonmanifold edges?




that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
# 8 13-03-2009 , 10:38 AM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5
I ran the clean up thing and it still doesnt work.

I'm somewhat new to 3D and stuff. I've learned everything from tutorials on the net and SubDs looks like a sweet way to keep the poly count down and still get a smooth result. I dont really know what I'm talking about very well.

I really appreciate you guys taking you're time to help me out!

# 9 13-03-2009 , 10:56 AM
Chirone's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
uhh...

what do you want with a low polycount? are you making for a game or do you have low hardware specs?

trying to reduce your polycount by turning stuff into sub divisions... that's.... umm... odd?
when you turn an object from poly to NURBS or sub-d it no longer counts towards the polycount because it's no longer made of polygons

sub-ds are infinately curved like NURBS so it'll always be smooth
but you can make polygons fake the smooth by softening the normals.

the problem could be with the bottom of your trophy




that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
# 10 13-03-2009 , 04:11 PM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5
Ah alright. Yeah my comps specs are kinda low so whenever I get a to high res model maya starts to get a little slow. And I delete the history from time to time as well so its not that. Its just soon time for a better comp I guess.

But I'll just try to smooth it with the smooth tool then. user added image

Thanks for the heads up on poly, nurbs and subDs btw. user added image

# 11 13-03-2009 , 11:35 PM
Chirone's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
smooth tool... that's one way of doing it i guess...

it will dramatically boost your polycount though, you could use smooth on the handles only and then add the nessecary edge loops to the cup to keep things in quads




that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
# 12 14-03-2009 , 12:38 AM
honestdom's Avatar
The Nurb Herd
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
I'll do you a tut on how to do a trophy tomorrow if you want, and if i'm not to hung over. user added image

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads