Beer glass scene creation
This course contains a little bit of everything with modeling, UVing, texturing and dynamics in Maya, as well as compositing multilayered EXR's in Photoshop.
# 1 04-12-2009 , 12:33 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 8

Export texture - an existing model

I am almost 70 and am trying my hand at character modeling for the first time,
so please excuse my ignorance in some of the technical matters.
I am learning as I am going.

I am trying to modify an existing game model in Maya 5.0 (5.1)
The model (a soldier) is in GM format with an existing .tga texture.
I convert the GM model to .obj and import it into Maya.

I add the texture - (using "file" calling in the original .tga texture) and apply it to the model.
It fits perfectly in all views.

I then do the modifications (which are minimal) just move some verts around.

Delete the history and save the scene.
Using a Maya plug-in, I use the vrml2 export and export the model to my model file.

I then take the exported model and convert it back to a GM format,
but when I add the texture, it is all over the place.

The texture is there and I can make it out -
but it is out of scale and in the incorrect positions.

I am wondering if the application of the texture in Maya is not as simple as it seems.
or if it just gets scrambled in the export process.
Or, perhaps I am missing a step.

Does anyone have any ideas?

# 2 04-12-2009 , 01:36 AM
ColdWave's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,310
Post a screenshot please


p.s You are 70 years old ? If that s o NICE!!! user added image user added image

# 3 04-12-2009 , 02:06 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 8
user added image
This is how he appears in Maya just prior to export.
user added image
And this is him after export back at game level just prior to putting to game.
user added image
This is him in game - Same character at various levels of promotion - Note model is flipped left to right in the game (which is normal) and these picture are after texturing with Gimp at the game level (local texturing can be done, but NOT model modification) before the one on the right is taken to Maya for modification.
Hope this helps.

# 4 04-12-2009 , 03:18 PM
ColdWave's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,310
Something is wrong with your texture.
Maybe it's flipped somehow ?
Or there are some problems with the skeleton i see that the arms are bend to the body but the skeleton is not ?

# 5 04-12-2009 , 03:23 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 8

Originally posted by ColdWave
Something is wrong with your texture.
Maybe it's flipped somehow ?
Or there are some problems with the skeleton i see that the arms are bend to the body but the skeleton is not ?

When "he" is originally received back after export from Maya as a vrl his arms are up.
It is the "local" translation program which puts the vrl (vrml) back to GM format which lowers the arms (this makes "him" ready for the game).
The animation works - so it appears just to be an export/texture issue (?)

# 6 04-12-2009 , 03:55 PM
ColdWave's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,310
export texture issue for sure.
Check out if it is flipped ?
Is some of the RGB channels are inverted ... just check out all the options..
Other thing that appear in my mind are the Uv's ? Are they layed out ? As i see from the prespective i can tell that they are layed out but don't know for sure.
+ Check out the exporter settings. Or try google the export texture problem for the type of exported you are using user added image

# 7 04-12-2009 , 04:53 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Firstly, THANK YOU for taking your time with this.
Here is a picture of the UV Map from Maya just prior to export.
user added image
Please note:
I have moved the vertexes within the area circled in red on the model, but they haven't moved on the map (?) should that be ?
(I shortened his jacket - as you can see in the picture)

As to RGB values - where would I find these?

# 8 04-12-2009 , 05:37 PM
ColdWave's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,310
The texture seems just fine... Well there is channel menu in Photoshop ... try to invert the channels and test by inverting each one ... or 2 .. make combination... I really don't know what the problem is ... the Uv's are just fine! If it's not from the channels it's from the exporter ... try some new exporter ? or search for some settings ?

# 9 05-12-2009 , 06:24 PM
NextDesign's Avatar
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
It seems to be a problem with the exporter. One thing you can do, is go and download Blender. www.blender.org It's a free 3d program with many exporters. Import the modified object into Blender, then export it to your vrml format. Make sure it's VRML97, not 1.0 in your case.

Have you looked at this? https://robotsdontbleed.com/wacko/wak...nediting#TOC_8

Hope this helps.


Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 10 06-12-2009 , 03:28 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Thanks ND,

Just to bring you up to speed - I have now worked out how to import vrml INTO Maya - so I tried that, but got the same results.

I tried 3D Max - but found that program to be far less intuitive on how to use the commands, so I gave up on that.
(Maya seems far easier to use).

I have tried to use Blender but the stupid program (or, stupid me) couldn't open the file in the first place :angery:

I will try it again (perhaps even reading the instructions this time).
This project is very important to me, not only for the game's sake, but if the younger members who play the game, see that an old codger like me can make models, they might be encouraged to have a go themselves.

I will let you know how I get on.

(P.S. very impressed by your page by the way).
(P.P.S. Inaz Dias visits our game forum on rare occasions and it was she who wrote the TOOL program which I use to try to finally convert the model back to the GM format).


Last edited by Short_Jack; 06-12-2009 at 03:31 PM.
# 11 08-12-2009 , 02:05 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Well I tried Blender:
Exporting as VRML97 gave me an error report:
Duplicate Verts1: 'coord_myfile' could not be processed.

However I could export as VRML 1.0 and open the file in TOOL, but I got the dreaded "Texture Missing" in the hex file.

# 12 08-12-2009 , 03:04 AM
ctbram's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
What is the URL of your game site?


"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
# 13 09-12-2009 , 08:41 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 8

Originally posted by ctbram
What is the URL of your game site?

It is a modding group based on the "out of the box"
game Pirates of the Caribbean having been given access to the source code as long as we don't sell anything we produce.
It also covers several other pirate games.
https://forum.piratesahoy.net//index.php?/index
To enter the real modding area though, you need to be a "modder" based on one's contribution to the game, and that comes only by invitation I'm afraid.

# 14 10-12-2009 , 12:37 AM
NextDesign's Avatar
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988

Originally posted by Short_Jack
However I could export as VRML 1.0 and open the file in TOOL, but I got the dreaded "Texture Missing" in the hex file.

Couldn't you point the hex to the texture via a hex editor?


Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 15 10-12-2009 , 04:18 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 8

Originally posted by NextDesign
Couldn't you point the hex to the texture via a hex editor?

The good news is that I now have a texture of sorts - the dreaded message is gone - and i get the picture with the blue background (above).
The bad news (You knew there had to be bad news didn't you?) is that I don't know what I am doing as I don't know enough about modeling.

Doing a vrml export from Maya I get the model and the relevant part of the hex file (I think) says:
File1Material_0#"Hat_file1.tga#polySurface1Geopoin ts#ShL7_Rif77.tga# then I think it refers to the model(?)

# represents 00 the square block symbol - "hat" is the name I gave the model file.
ShL7_Rif77.tga is the actual texture for the model.

ShL7_Rif77.tga is in the same file as the model (Hat.gm)
BUT I "BELIEVE" that somehow Hat_file1.tga should be there as well.
But I don't know where to locate that file.

I don't know if I'm even on the right track here or not(?)

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads