Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 1
This course will look at the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. We'll look at what makes a good model in Maya and why objects are modeled in the way they are.
# 1 10-08-2010 , 12:47 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22

Animating transparency in a particular direction

Anyone know how?
Thanks

# 2 10-08-2010 , 06:18 AM
honestdom's Avatar
The Nurb Herd
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
use a black and white ramp

# 3 10-08-2010 , 04:07 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
In the transparency map node?

# 4 11-08-2010 , 12:36 AM
Chirone's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
something about facing ratio too

what do you mean by 'in a particular direction', that could means lots of things

vague questions get vaque responses user added image




that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
# 5 11-08-2010 , 11:52 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Like from left to right on a cylinder. Like a lightsaber switching on.


Last edited by Buster Sword; 11-08-2010 at 12:27 PM.
# 6 11-08-2010 , 01:13 PM
honestdom's Avatar
The Nurb Herd
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381

Originally posted by Buster Sword
In the transparency map node?

yeah plug the ramp into the transparency and key the set position.

# 7 11-08-2010 , 03:31 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22

Originally posted by hammer.horror
yeah plug the ramp into the transparency and key the set position.

Nothing happens, when I mess around with the ramp and render it shows the flow of transparency. But in the actual scene nothing happens, nor does anything happen in a playblast.


Last edited by Buster Sword; 11-08-2010 at 05:13 PM.
# 8 12-08-2010 , 10:17 AM
honestdom's Avatar
The Nurb Herd
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381

Originally posted by Buster Sword
when I mess around with the ramp and render it shows the flow of transparency.

umm... so it works then.


Originally posted by Chirone
vague questions get vaque responses

word

# 9 12-08-2010 , 12:23 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22

Originally posted by hammer.horror
umm... so it works then.




word

Only when rendered and not in the actual scene though.

# 10 12-08-2010 , 04:18 PM
EduSciVis-er
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
Some things will only show up (or be transparent) in the render, but I'm not sure if this is one of those situations. Have you tried hitting 6 and 7 to see if the texture/lighting helps?

# 11 12-08-2010 , 05:12 PM
bendingiscool's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
I don't think Maya likes to display transparency if done through a gradient, or any other type of texture, in the viewports.

As long as it works in the render you don't have anything to worry about..

cheers,
Chris

# 12 12-08-2010 , 09:22 PM
Chirone's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
i'm pretty sure there is a setting somewhere that you can enable the alpha in hardware texturing, which makes it show up in the viewports
i just dont remember where such setting is.
i think i saw it on the gnomonology eyeball tutorial how you do it




that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads