Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 2
This course will look in the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. It's aimed at people that have some modeling experience in Maya but are having trouble with complex objects.
# 1 07-01-2012 , 12:06 AM
dre4mer's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 52

Little rendering time comparison Maya V-ray 3930k

Hi guys,

I don't know if this is the best place for this post or not, please move or delete if you feel it's inapropriate. I did a little render comparison test in V-ray Maya on my new system and old. In case you were looking at upgrading to the new 3930k intel chip it might interest you.

Benchmark Image
user added image

Render Results:
AMD 1090T 6 core 8GB RAM
8:28 minutes

Intel i7 3930k 6 core 32GB RAM
3:37 minutes

Here is a little more information in my blog post about it.
https://mayazest.blogspot.com/2011/12...0k-vs-amd.html


-Ethan


________________________
3D Generalist and VFX Artist

https://mayazest.blogspot.com/
Production Tips and Tutorials!

Last edited by dre4mer; 07-01-2012 at 05:13 AM.
# 2 07-01-2012 , 12:28 AM
ctbram's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,998
well 32GB of RAM vs 8GB of ram for a render bench is kind of unfair don't you think?

Although, I am sure the i7 would still win, I am willing to bet the difference would be less if you ran that same render with the i7 and removed some of the RAM.


"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram; 07-01-2012 at 12:30 AM.
# 3 07-01-2012 , 12:47 AM
dre4mer's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 52
It is a very low RAM intensive scene, but now you have me wondering as well. If I can find a way to "turn off" the RAM in the bios without physically taking it out i'll run another render. As it is though it was a royal pain to get the RAM under the CPU fan. It's not going anywhere i'm afraid.

-Ethan


________________________
3D Generalist and VFX Artist

https://mayazest.blogspot.com/
Production Tips and Tutorials!
# 4 07-01-2012 , 01:01 AM
Jay's Avatar
Lead Modeler - Framestore
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,287
haha....bench mark tests always make me laugh.

What res is this? what is the vray adaptive settings for the Occ? theres alot to consider.
Also try a more complex object...we are using vray at work....its not what you think LOL

Jay

# 5 07-01-2012 , 01:36 AM
ctbram's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,998
good points jay


"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
# 6 07-01-2012 , 04:48 AM
NextDesign's Avatar
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
If you really want an "accurate" (I'm using the term loosely here, as benchmarks are always inaccurate) benchmark, you'd have to run the test at least a couple hundred times, and take the average; on both rigs.


Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 7 07-01-2012 , 05:15 AM
dre4mer's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 52
There I changed "benchmark" to "comparison" for you guys user added image I know it's not some scientific test. But it would have been nice for me to see something when I was interested in how much faster v-ray would be on the 3930k so I posted this. The chip seems about this percentage faster for most renderings than my old system.

-Ethan


________________________
3D Generalist and VFX Artist

https://mayazest.blogspot.com/
Production Tips and Tutorials!
# 8 07-01-2012 , 06:48 PM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
lol, just bought the same parts for a new PC. the i7-3930k and 32gb of RAM.
Getting it assembled next week...I'm beyond excited!!user added image

(my current system is around 4 years old. Intel Core2 Duo E6750 + 2GB of RAM)

# 9 11-01-2012 , 05:36 PM
dre4mer's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 52
You should post the speed increase over your old system for the same scene!


________________________
3D Generalist and VFX Artist

https://mayazest.blogspot.com/
Production Tips and Tutorials!
# 10 11-01-2012 , 05:56 PM
murambi's Avatar
Head of 3d Admedia
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,339
I have the same i7 3930k processor and this thing is a beast it definately mopes the floor with any AMD products. The thing is though Autodesk products tend to favour intel processors more than the competition.

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads