Integrating 3D models with photography
Interested in integrating your 3D work with the real world? This might help
# 1 10-11-2013 , 06:29 PM
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 17

Rigging and or modeling problem I need help with

I have an assignment due in a few days. I have a rigged and modeled fish. However when I select the fish to move him, the rig and the fish move...except the fish's eyelids. Now. This is a purchased fish for a Maya I class. We were told to find a free model, or pay for a model on a place like TurboSquid.

I did the latter. I need help on how to get the eyelids attached to my model, so they move along with the model. Here are two pics of the Fish.

If someone could help me figure this out...I would really appreciate it. Thanksuser added image

PS. By the way, all of the model's copyright info was made available to my professor, so I made sure the author of this Fish got full credituser added image

Attached Thumbnails
# 2 10-11-2013 , 08:12 PM
mickhah's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Posts: 229
the first thing i think about is that joints which move eyelids are not connected to the main skeleton.

# 3 10-11-2013 , 11:29 PM
elephantinc's Avatar
Level 32 pachyderm
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859

the first thing i think about is that joints which move eyelids are not connected to the main skeleton.

What this guy said. If the eyelids have joints you need to parent them to an appropriate place on the fish's skeleton (a joint in the head somewhere, so the eyelids move with the head) and if not you need to parent the eyelids themselves to the skeleton.
I can't remember which way around it is, but you either need to select the joint and then the eyelids and go to edit -> parent (or just press 'p'), or select the eyelids and then the joint and then parent.

# 4 10-11-2013 , 11:38 PM
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 17

Thanks, guys.

What this guy said. If the eyelids have joints you need to parent them to an appropriate place on the fish's skeleton (a joint in the head somewhere, so the eyelids move with the head) and if not you need to parent the eyelids themselves to the skeleton.
I can't remember which way around it is, but you either need to select the joint and then the eyelids and go to edit -> parent (or just press 'p'), or select the eyelids and then the joint and then parent.

Yeah, I am trying to do that stuff now...Thanks for the help guysuser added image

# 5 10-11-2013 , 11:47 PM
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 17

Christ...what a simple fix

Yeah, I am trying to do that stuff now...Thanks for the help guysuser added image

Thanks guys, That was a real simple fix...I am a little embarrassed nowuser added image

# 6 12-11-2013 , 08:18 AM
Skalman's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 293
grouping them both and moving the group would work?


20 year old guy from Sweden



Big Bob Marley fan
Love skateboarding
Maya, Mudbox and Photoshop user

Full name: Marcus Ralman


https://www.facebook.com/MarcusRalman3D

^ My facebook page ^
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off