Complex UV Layout in Maya
Over the last couple of years UV layout in Maya has changed for the better. In this course we're going to be taking a look at some of those changes as we UV map an entire character
# 16 10-11-2005 , 10:27 AM
Gregy's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kempton park
Posts: 44

A Train

Hi would it be ok to use a train for the challenge?

# 17 10-11-2005 , 12:06 PM
mtmckinley's Avatar
The Maya Mountain
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
I believe that should be ok.

# 18 10-11-2005 , 08:24 PM
MattTheMan's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Is anything wrong with creating several objects and just posting your favorite one in the end?

# 19 10-11-2005 , 08:48 PM
mtmckinley's Avatar
The Maya Mountain
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
no, that's fine.

# 20 12-11-2005 , 06:01 AM
BMS's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Hi Mike,

I'm modelling a Radio Control Glider and the Radio Controller. Typical photos of Radio Control Model are on grass with the radio next to them.

Can I take a photo of the grass environment and composite the model and radio or do I also need to make the environment?

Regards
Paul

# 21 12-11-2005 , 02:01 PM
mtmckinley's Avatar
The Maya Mountain
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
an environment is not necessary.

# 22 12-11-2005 , 04:59 PM
BMS's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks Mike

# 23 17-11-2005 , 06:51 AM
dilberts's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 368
Hi Mike,

I just posted the first stage of my entry, a Yamaha Roadstar but I have a couple of questions. I'm going to attempt to get the whole thing done by January, but if I don't get it finished, can I pick one particular part, maybe the engine for instance, and enter that. I'm trying to model and shade each part of the bike as photorealistic as possible, so really I have a whole bunch of possible entries in one project. I'm working on the handle bar grips right now, and that alone has taken about 6 hours what with all the screw threads and intricate fillets between the surfaces.

My second question is in regards to the final render. I'm modeling each tiny screw, bracket, pipe, hose etc. to be photorealistic so that if I want to do a real close up render of a particular part, it still will appear real. However, in a final render you're not going to see all those tiny details if you do a global render of the whole bike. Therefore, can you enter multiple close-up renders of different parts of the project?

Thanks in advance.

Neil

# 24 17-11-2005 , 07:00 AM
BMS's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738

Originally posted by dilberts
. . .in a final render you're not going to see all those tiny details if you do a global render of the whole bike. Therefore, can you enter multiple close-up renders of different parts of the project?

Most of us are the same boat. My Radio Control is going to have a lot more detail then you're going to see in a 640 x 480 image, but I think so long as the image you submit look Photo realistic then thats all that matters.

Cheers
Paul

# 25 17-11-2005 , 12:20 PM
mtmckinley's Avatar
The Maya Mountain
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
you can post as many renders as you want (within reason) of your final.

yes, you can just submit something like an engine, as long as we have a good photo of a real one to compare it to.

# 26 21-11-2005 , 05:27 AM
BMS's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Hi Mike,

I've been trying to figure out how to best display my Glider in the final render and still show some detail.

You've specified the image size to be no larger than 640 x 480 which is effectively 307200 pixels. So if I produced an image that is 800 x 384 which would still be 307200 pixels would that be acceptable or is that going to make life difficult for you guys?

No problems at all if you can't, it's just an idea.

Cheers
Paul

# 27 21-11-2005 , 12:59 PM
mtmckinley's Avatar
The Maya Mountain
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
That's fine. the image size restriciton is mainly to keep people from posting very huge images all the time.

And don't forget, if you host your own images, you can have them be as big as you want.

# 28 21-11-2005 , 07:44 PM
BMS's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Thanks Mike,

That helps heaps user added image

# 29 25-11-2005 , 03:13 PM
publicFunction's Avatar
Senior Software Developer
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Gutted.... (means I'm annoyed I can't join in)

Wish I could join in on this but all my spare time is currently involved with the Environment Modelling for a game in Development (Etherea: Dark Genesis - have a visit of the site).

I'll keep my eye open an a few of you and hopefully see some great work from you out there...

Have fun all :attn:


Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
# 30 26-11-2005 , 03:36 PM
metallicjet66's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Florida, U.S.A
Posts: 517
hey mike whats up, umm as u might know, im modelling up a helicopter, can i make an environment???????



im also planning to animate it just for fun...


Aim:Nshad BB Court
msn:nothinbutchains@hotmail.com
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is Off | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads