SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Normal Map problem
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 23-05-2009, 02:32 PM   #1
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default Normal Map problem

I don't know why this is happening ... any ideas ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fffff.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	102.4 KB
ID:	42258  
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2009, 02:33 PM   #2
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	problem.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	80.7 KB
ID:	42259  
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2009, 07:31 PM   #3
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

you have to merge UV's (same as merging vertexes when combining to halves of a model)

Edit;

you also have hard seams no overlap which means that your normal map ends abruptly.
use the blurbrush in photoshop or clonestamp to try and fix it.
Next time try to place your seams at places where you don't see them

Last edited by mastone : 23-05-2009 at 07:34 PM.
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2009, 09:09 PM   #4
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

Is it a Zbrush generated normal Map??

J
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2009, 10:12 PM   #5
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jay
Is it a Zbrush generated normal Map??

J

Yes it is Jay. I slove my problem with another method ...
Previously i export the low poly model from Zbrush and import it into maya..
But i try to place the normal map on the model i made in Maya directly and it worked just fine.

@ Mastone i've read about the blur brush and do that thing it really help me alot ....

But i have a few edges that are still not well, but it's from the UV mapp i guess....


Can you explain how the UV set must be ... ?
As far as i understand i must close the map. I must not leave end of edge like i usually do ?




Edit.

If you have a picture of how the uv mapp should be in common please post it and i will make the assimilation
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1234.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	80.5 KB
ID:	42261  
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2009, 08:56 AM   #6
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

What i mean is that when you model youwould usually model one half and mirror this half upon completion and most people mirror bij scaling in the minus X(or whatever) direction, combining the model and then merge vertices, before that however you should flip the uv's of the duplicated half and align them somewhat.
The thing is after you have combined and merged the vertices you should merge some Uv's aswell, that's all.
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2009, 09:52 AM   #7
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

I didn't know that the UVs must be merged too. Thanks for the information
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2009, 11:41 AM   #8
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Not all of them just the ones which connect to the duplicated model, mostly start at the crotch and end somewhere near the forehead
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.