Complex UV Layout in Maya
Over the last couple of years UV layout in Maya has changed for the better. In this course we're going to be taking a look at some of those changes as we UV map an entire character
# 1 10-04-2013 , 08:47 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,520

What Mouse are You Using?

I'm in the market for a new mouse because as awesome as the Logitech G700 was initially, the battery life and the ensuing tracking problems are going to have the police show up at my door one of these days. I don't know if I got a dud or what but this thing eats through batteries like they're going out of style, even on power saving mode.

So my question is, what mouse has treated you the best? I'm looking for something with some extra buttons near the thumb rest and given the how we relentlessly use mice, I want to hear the good, the bad and the ugly and maybe I'll get turned onto some new stuff too. user added image


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 2 10-04-2013 , 08:54 PM
NextDesign's Avatar
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Mouse? What is this heresy?

I use a tablet for everything, as it's much more ergonomic.


Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 3 10-04-2013 , 09:40 PM
Events Team at Wargaming.net
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 486
I just use a standard 3 button mouse from logitech...although it has been pissing me off as of late, it keeps double clicking, I have changed the batteries and cleaned it out, its got a mind of it's own.

Oh right, and my Bamboo


Last edited by Ozgalis; 10-04-2013 at 10:47 PM.
# 4 10-04-2013 , 10:12 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sliema Malta
Posts: 497
Mouse = Razer Naga (12 # buttons next to the thumb)
Tablet = Cintiq12WX
Laptop Tablet = Wireless Bamboo

# 5 11-04-2013 , 12:01 AM
EduSciVis-er
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
Logitech MX Revolution, best mouse ever made (out of the 3 or 4 that I've used). It's about 6-7 years old and still going strong. But they don't make it no more. Sad. I also use an intuos 4 medium, since that seems to be the trend in the thread, but not for maya. Just for zbrush and photoshop. Mouse for maya and illustrator, much more precise.

# 6 11-04-2013 , 12:12 AM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,520
@ ND
You know, when my tablet was brand spanking new I really gave that a shot, I wanted to so badly but I kept making horrible sloppy clicks. I couldn't get used to it or maybe I'm a clumsy oaf lol.

@Ozgalis
I tossed a pretty sweet mouse because of that, apparently its a real problem but it can be fixed. If only I knew.

@ Chavister
I'm looking really hard at a Naga. Those buttons look yummy, the less I have to use the keyboard the better.

@ Stwert
I know!! I had something very similar and that's why I'm eyeing the Logitech Performance Mouse MX. That and the Naga are pretty high on the list.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 7 11-04-2013 , 02:19 AM
NextDesign's Avatar
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988

@ ND
You know, when my tablet was brand spanking new I really gave that a shot, I wanted to so badly but I kept making horrible sloppy clicks. I couldn't get used to it or maybe I'm a clumsy oaf lol.

Yeah, it takes time to get used to it; but I was willing to do it as using a mouse caused my CTS to flare up.


Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 8 11-04-2013 , 02:49 PM
Acid44
Guest
Posts: n/a

# 9 11-04-2013 , 06:31 PM
jsprogg's Avatar
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,712
I am using the Logitech Performance Mouse MX and before that the revolution and both are great, never had any problem with either.




2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
# 10 11-04-2013 , 10:19 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,520
@ ND
CTS yikes! It's a real buzzkill and I'm a little paranoid about it (that and my eyes) so I break for a couple minutes every 45 mins or so. I can work the pen in Maya to a point, it just that I refuse to give up my little thumb button bound scripts haha. Well that and I game a bit.

@ Acid
I remember pawing at that in the store and reading really mixed reviews, mainly about it stopping for 10+ seconds at a time plus it didn't sit right in my hand. If my thumb isn't sitting right I can't do it.

@Jsprogg
It feels great, had one similar and loved it but I'm just so hesitant about Logitech now, they used to be a brand where I could buy a product and throw away the receipt but the problems I'm having with the G700 and previous mouse are really off putting. I'm really on the fence about it, I just don't want to kick myself later ><.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 11 12-04-2013 , 02:33 AM
Acid44
Guest
Posts: n/a
If you get the RAT 7 it's completely modular/adjustable. I've never had mine stop, ever, but for about 10 months the scroll wheel didn't work, so I had to map the side wheel to scroll, which was a bit odd, but then I got used to it right about when the normal one decided to work again.

# 12 12-04-2013 , 02:40 AM
EduSciVis-er
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
When I moved a year or two ago, I ended up losing my wireless dongle for my mouse. I was pretty disappointed so I called Logitech. They sent me a new one free of charge. Big plus in my books.

# 13 12-04-2013 , 07:29 AM
bullet1968's Avatar
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Ok I have a Logitech M510...just the right size for my manly hands...couple of buttons...simple stuff. NOW here is a little tip user added image my Unifying USB died...cant get them here in Perth anymore or eBay. Went and bought another mouse (sacrificial) LOL then got onto a Youtube vid showing how to disassemble one and repair in less than 5 mins. SO if any of you good people need to know how to repair the USB (to a point)...call me...sigh

Cheers bullet


bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
# 14 12-04-2013 , 09:44 AM
goggles's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 219
A4 Tech XL-760H at work, M100 OPTICAL 1.000dpi MOUSE at home. simplest... user added image I use tablet for maya and zbrush all the time but that ankle problem started to show up. I think its not a good idea to use tablet all the time but maya modeling gets so fast with tablet and it flows...

Boss said we have a collobrative feature film coming up and told us if we needed anything. Wondering if i can make him buy Connexion stuff user added image Really want to try this and see if it helps or not;

https://www.3dconnexion.com/buy/shop.html

# 15 12-04-2013 , 08:20 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,520
@ Bullet
It's such a bummer when you replace hardware then stumble on a way to fix it, fricken Youtube-_-. No one on Amazon can get it to you?


@ Goggles
You started getting ankles problems, what?!(I hope you mean wrist because you're scaring me a little lol)
Those 3D mice look interesting. The SpaceNavigator still needs a traditional mouse to complement it though(I was wondering how they handled the clicker function). user added image
-----

I'm leaning towards the Naga, I want to give that a whirl.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads