Maya 2020 fundamentals - modelling the real world
Get halfway through a model and find it's an unworkable mess? Can't add edge loops where you need them? Can't subdivide a mesh properly? If any of this sounds familiar check this course out.
# 1 19-03-2007 , 12:01 PM
pegla's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6

UV texture placement doesn't stick?

Greetings,

This site is quite extensive, I did look through it, but I must admit I might have overlooked this part, if I posted this double, hereby my apologies in advance.

I work at a smalltime studio in The Netherlands, and we are currently in the process of migrating from Lightwave to Maya. So I am basically reschooling myself. I must admit I do like the Maya interface so far, but I do have a problem I can't seem to lay my hands on:

When I make an UV texture, it seems to go fine, until I start to animate it. When I move it, there is no problem, but when I rotate, something weird happens:

user added image

In Lightwave the UV textures were parented to the object by default, but in Maya it seems to be parented to 'World', and in the Outliner it doesn't seem to work out, all the parts are parented to the object?

Any ideas?

All the best, and keep up the splendid work,

Pegla

# 2 19-03-2007 , 03:01 PM
publicFunction's Avatar
Senior Software Developer
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
You need to create a texture reference object, this will stop the texture from misbehaving when its animated. Another option is to bake them.


Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
# 3 19-03-2007 , 03:19 PM
Joopson's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,314
select the object and do modify>freeze transformations


Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
# 4 19-03-2007 , 05:19 PM
wasatch5_sparticus's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: my house!!
Posts: 261

Originally posted by R@nSiD
You need to create a texture reference object, this will stop the texture from misbehaving when its animated. Another option is to bake them.

Yeah, I was gonna say bake, but I don't know what a texture reference object is.

Sparticus


Expect to excell...
# 5 21-03-2007 , 01:27 PM
pegla's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
I baked the texture, that seemed to help.

Thank you very much for the swift replies.

All the best,

Pegla

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads