SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-05-2003, 04:18 AM   #1
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default bump map texturing problems

Ok.. dont' know what's going on but wondering if you guys could help me out. I've done a couple of tutorials and i'm pretty sure i'm applying the bump map the correct way. Hopefully i can explain this clearly.

i've modeled the bamboo base of a tiki torch. It's a subD object. I've converted it over to polygon mode and applied an (editpolygon>texture>planar mapping). I made a map and it looks perfectly fine on my subD object. I've played with the same map in photoshop and used it as a bump map. When i applied the bump map, there's something seriously wrong? I've uploaded the images of before and after, and also my bump map and color map. Does anyone have any suggestions or another way or going about it?????

Last edited by strytus : 19-05-2003 at 04:20 AM.
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2003, 04:33 AM   #2
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default here's the image

sorry.. lemme try uploading this again.. i'm always having problems with this part
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2003, 10:23 PM   #3
Kühl
Subscriber
 
Kühl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah... tried it too, but it seems that bump mapping does not work with sub-d... i guess you need to convert to poly dude....
__________________
Kühl
Kühl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2003, 02:33 AM   #4
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

if i convert it to polys and do everything ok.. then convert it back again to a subD object, do you think that might work???? Or do you think i should just go high-poly and don't bother about converting it over to subD. I've tried the first method. Any other suggestions????
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2003, 02:51 AM   #5
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Just curious, if it's a subd object, why even bother convert to poly? Just map the subd object. The general rule is that you should be texturing when the final object is completely modeled so I would think converting textured objects back and forth is going to throw something off, in this case, maybe it's the bump map. That being said, I would try either converting it to poly and doing all the mapping to that...or just map it all as subd. Try it and see if you get the same problems.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."

Last edited by NitroLiq : 20-05-2003 at 02:56 AM.
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2003, 12:20 AM   #6
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the tip. still learning how to texture in maya. but i'll try it out in a day or two and get back to you. been really busy lately.

it's completely model, but i thought like the general rule was to model in polys and subDs. Texture in poly and then convert to subDs for rendering? right or wrong???
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2003, 05:33 PM   #7
Kühl
Subscriber
 
Kühl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

why convert to sub-d for rendering? I dont get it? Just render in poly... (after smooth)... ?
__________________
Kühl
Kühl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2003, 01:44 AM   #8
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok i'm still fairly new to texturing in maya. But does does ever happen to you? After applying a texture, the object in your viewport go kind of like invisible... or like that Xray mode look a like?? Do you get that? (still a Max user at heart)
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2003, 01:47 AM   #9
Kühl
Subscriber
 
Kühl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hmm.... have you pressed "6" on ya keyboard for hardware texturing?? Otherwise, im not quite sure what you mean about the invisible thingy....
__________________
Kühl
Kühl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2003, 01:58 AM   #10
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default for example

here's the invisibleness
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	invisbleness.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	250.3 KB
ID:	7196  
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2003, 01:59 AM   #11
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

oh yeah.. thanks for all your help too.. i really appreciate it
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2003, 02:01 AM   #12
Kühl
Subscriber
 
Kühl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Im not sure. Could you try an upload your file... then i'll have a look at it...
__________________
Kühl
Kühl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2003, 02:20 AM   #13
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default thanks

here it is. I swear i gotta be doing something wrong. Thanks a lot
Attached Files
File Type: mb jungle03.mb (361.7 KB, 14 views)
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2003, 02:29 AM   #14
Kühl
Subscriber
 
Kühl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cool model strytus...

I dont see anything wrong with the model.. still you havent apllied your bambus texture in this file... culd it be the texture that have a problem ??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bamb.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	15.5 KB
ID:	7199  
__________________
Kühl
Kühl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2003, 03:22 AM   #15
Kühl
Subscriber
 
Kühl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ahhh ok... strytus are texturing in sub-d only... maybe someone can help him out... how do you for instance apply uv's and add a planar projection ?

Problem was, that he textured the proxy instead of the actual model... how to go around this ?
__________________
Kühl
Kühl is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open Challenge -Jerry Can Texturing honestdom Battle Arena 77 03-12-2010 12:20 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.