Maya for 3D Printing - Rapid Prototyping
In this course we're going to look at something a little different, creating technically accurate 3D printed parts.
# 1 19-05-2003 , 04:18 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84

bump map texturing problems

Ok.. dont' know what's going on but wondering if you guys could help me out. I've done a couple of tutorials and i'm pretty sure i'm applying the bump map the correct way. Hopefully i can explain this clearly.

i've modeled the bamboo base of a tiki torch. It's a subD object. I've converted it over to polygon mode and applied an (editpolygon>texture>planar mapping). I made a map and it looks perfectly fine on my subD object. I've played with the same map in photoshop and used it as a bump map. When i applied the bump map, there's something seriously wrong? I've uploaded the images of before and after, and also my bump map and color map. Does anyone have any suggestions or another way or going about it?????


Last edited by strytus; 19-05-2003 at 04:20 AM.
# 2 19-05-2003 , 04:33 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84

here's the image

sorry.. lemme try uploading this again.. i'm always having problems with this part

# 3 19-05-2003 , 10:23 PM
Kühl's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Yeah... tried it too, but it seems that bump mapping does not work with sub-d... i guess you need to convert to poly dude....


Kühl
# 4 20-05-2003 , 02:33 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
if i convert it to polys and do everything ok.. then convert it back again to a subD object, do you think that might work???? Or do you think i should just go high-poly and don't bother about converting it over to subD. I've tried the first method. Any other suggestions????

# 5 20-05-2003 , 02:51 AM
NitroLiq's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Just curious, if it's a subd object, why even bother convert to poly? Just map the subd object. The general rule is that you should be texturing when the final object is completely modeled so I would think converting textured objects back and forth is going to throw something off, in this case, maybe it's the bump map. That being said, I would try either converting it to poly and doing all the mapping to that...or just map it all as subd. Try it and see if you get the same problems.


"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."

Last edited by NitroLiq; 20-05-2003 at 02:56 AM.
# 6 23-05-2003 , 12:20 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
thanks for the tip. still learning how to texture in maya. but i'll try it out in a day or two and get back to you. been really busy lately.

it's completely model, but i thought like the general rule was to model in polys and subDs. Texture in poly and then convert to subDs for rendering? right or wrong???

# 7 23-05-2003 , 05:33 PM
Kühl's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
why convert to sub-d for rendering? I dont get it? Just render in poly... (after smooth)... ?


Kühl
# 8 24-05-2003 , 01:44 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
ok i'm still fairly new to texturing in maya. But does does ever happen to you? After applying a texture, the object in your viewport go kind of like invisible... or like that Xray mode look a like?? Do you get that? (still a Max user at heart)

# 9 24-05-2003 , 01:47 AM
Kühl's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
hmm.... have you pressed "6" on ya keyboard for hardware texturing?? Otherwise, im not quite sure what you mean about the invisible thingy....


Kühl
# 10 24-05-2003 , 01:58 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84

for example

here's the invisibleness

Attached Thumbnails
# 11 24-05-2003 , 01:59 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
oh yeah.. thanks for all your help too.. i really appreciate it

# 12 24-05-2003 , 02:01 AM
Kühl's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Im not sure. Could you try an upload your file... then i'll have a look at it...


Kühl
# 13 24-05-2003 , 02:20 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84

thanks

here it is. I swear i gotta be doing something wrong. Thanks a lot

Attached Files
File Type: mb jungle03.mb (361.7 KB, 289 views)
# 14 24-05-2003 , 02:29 AM
Kühl's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
cool model strytus...

I dont see anything wrong with the model.. still you havent apllied your bambus texture in this file... culd it be the texture that have a problem ??

Attached Thumbnails

Kühl
# 15 24-05-2003 , 03:22 AM
Kühl's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
ahhh ok... strytus are texturing in sub-d only... maybe someone can help him out... how do you for instance apply uv's and add a planar projection ?

Problem was, that he textured the proxy instead of the actual model... how to go around this ?


Kühl
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads