SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / Urgent! (image planes)
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-08-2008, 11:47 AM   #1
amoeba
Registered User
 
amoeba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NZ
Posts: 207
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Urgent! (image planes)

Well, I have just started with the tank challenge against Chirone, and ran in to a huge problem: When I have one image plane in the scene, the frame rate drops INSTANTLY to 2 FPS. Which makes it impossible to make anything. And the frame rate stays down even if the image plane is hidden.

Is there a way to still have reference images, but not use image planes? Or a way to make the image planes less power-hungry?


And my Mac isn't that bad hat it can't handle it: 1 gigabyte of memory and 733 MHz should be enough for image planes, right?

__________________
W.I.P's
-
Finished work
Mech
amoeba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 12:06 PM   #2
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

the only thing i can suggest is you make planes and give them the image as a texture like what Kurt does in his tutorials

i dunno if that would fix the situation though

it might be worth a try
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 12:11 PM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Maybe its your GFX card?

I always use nurbs planes to add my images, you get much more control over scaling and positioning etc.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 12:12 PM   #4
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

i thought you get the same control over image planes as you do with actually using geometry, but you can't do it with the transform tools
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 12:25 PM   #5
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

how big is the image you're trying to use? and what kind of graphics card do you have? if it's like an old 32 meg card and you're using an image that's larger than like 5 megs then yea it's gonna chug.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 12:35 PM   #6
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Chirone
i thought you get the same control over image planes as you do with actually using geometry, but you can't do it with the transform tools

Their a lot easier to work with IMO, you can group scale move and position without fiddeling with settings, you can also add them to layers as to lock, or toggle visibility etc.

Yes you can do this with image palnes but not with the speed that you can using geo.

I only use image planes when matching to a background plate when I want to adjust the camera settings to match
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 11:39 AM
Breakfast - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 4 19-04-2011 06:37 PM
Stratocaster - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 2 31-12-2010 09:30 AM
Rhinoman - Original SM Gallery Image by Septopus David Simply Maya Gallery 0 09-12-2010 01:42 PM
Physical Fitness Center Lounge - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 0 05-12-2010 11:32 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.